“[An] evocative journey for the singer, who uses the song to pose a question that answers itself: ‘Are we all not lost in song?'” – NPR Music

“Jurado worked once again with producer and regular collaborator Richard Swift, and new single Exit 353″ has the sort of rambling 70s vibes weve come to expect from him. Also, I promise, its fully possible to enjoy it without knowing the albums backstory.” – Stereogum

“Its a blurred, reverberating expanse of sound,once again proving how successfully Jurado has transitionedthrough genres, reaching a point where it all comes together in one powerful, evocative track.” – Consequence of Sound

 

Today, Damien Jurado shares the cinematic video for “Exit 353,” the first single off his new (and 12th!) studio album, Visions of Us on the Land, out 3/18 on Secretly Canadian. Visions is the third and final entry in the cosmic trilogy that began with Maraqopa in 2012 and followed by Brothers and Sisters of the Eternal Son in 2014. The video was directed by Elise Tyler, who had this to say about the concept:

 

Damien has a strong history of cinematic music videos, so I felt very free to explore narrative andimage with Exit 353. I was inspired by the haunting landscapes of the Pacific Northwest; it is aperfect backdrop for Damien’s music, which clearly originates from the towering pine trees, densefog, and winding hills of the region. We explored the area and created a world where two seeminglyvulnerable young women are more powerful than one may think. In my mind, Damien is on theverge of leaving this world and disappearing into anonymity. He is pulled back momentarily by theseyoung women who perhaps need his help- but he quickly realized that he should have never beenseduced back into society, that he was and is alone among men.

 

 

Pre-OrderVisions of Us on the Land now:

EUROPEAN TOUR DATES:
(more info and tix here)

Thu. Apr. 7 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
Fri. Apr. 8 – Rotterdam, NL @ Motel Mozaique Festival
Sat. Apr. 9 – Genk, NE @ Little Waves Festival
Sun. Apr. 10 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Tue. Apr. 12 – Brighton, UK @ Dome Studio
Wed. Apr. 13 – Bristol, UK @ Lantern
Fri. Apr. 15 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s
Sat. Apr. 16 – Manchester, UK @ St. Philips Church
Sun. Apr. 17 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Mon. Apr. 18 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall
Wed. Apr. 20 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
Thu. Apr. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefahrlich
Fri. Apr. 22 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA
Sat. Apr. 23 – Oslo, NO @ Mono
Sun. Apr. 24 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Tue. Apr. 26 – Stockholm, SE @ Sodra Teatern
Thu. Apr. 28 – Cologne, DE @ Stadtgarten
Fri. Apr. 29 – Paris, FR @ divan Du Monde
Sun. May 1 – Valencia, ES @ Veles
Mon. May 2 – San Sebastian, ES @ Intxaurrondo
Mon. May 3 – Ourense, ES @ Teatro Principal
Tue. May 4 – Lisbon, PT @ MusicBox
Wed. May 5 – Madrid, ES @ Teatro Lara
Thu. May 6 – Barcelona, ES @ Music Hall