Ahead of the release of their new album Hold/Still, Suuns have launched an ambitious, playable VR app for thethird single”Brainwash,”along with the final video in a triptych directed by Suuns’ own Max Henry. He explains the cutting edge concept for “Brainwash”:

“I first came upon game designer Jake Clover‘s work through a let’s play series I follow on YoutTube – Rockleesmile was covering a game-jam inspired by his stuff. Brash, ham-fisted and just generally bonkers – it was a touch dark, maybe subversive, maybe immature, definitely unique, definitely brilliant. VR wasn’t the initial idea, but with the upsurge of interest in the medium – and as we were puzzling over how to package Clovers landscape – it seemed like a no brainer.

We were introduced to the work of Nicolas Roy and DPT; they were instrumental in seeing the VR vision through, and what you see is entirely due to their fine work and generous time.

So what we have in the end is not a game, per se, but it did come out of that fertile and generous gaming philosophy – always forward, always daring. Montreal has a really creative game-making community, and though I still consider myself a bit of an outsider, this is a bit of a shout out.

What it is, exactly, well let you decide. Check it out – its pretty damn cool. I definitely recommend getting your hands on VR goggles – Google Cardboard or otherwise – if you can. (We were demoing on a Samsung S6 with VR Gear goggles). You can still play it on your phone regardless – but the stereoscopic experience really makes a big difference. Try not to bump into anything, and enjoy.”

Play and view the “Brainwash” VR app and video below and stream Lee Gamble‘s very special “Reconstruction” remix.

Hold/Still is out April 15th and the band will tour extensively worldwide throughout the spring and summer. A full list of dates is below.

 

DOWNLOAD & PLAY SUUNS’ “BRAINWASH” VR APP:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=co.dpt.Suuns

STREAM SUUNS’ “BRAINWASH (LEE GAMBLE RECONSTRUCTION) REMIX”:


Pre-OrderHold/Still:

Secretly Canadian//iTunes//Amazon

Indie Record Stores


SUUNS TOUR DATES:

Thu. Apr. 7 – Sainte-Therese, QC @ Bar le Cha-Cha (Tickets)

Sat. Apr. 9 – Saint-Casimir, QC @ La Taverne (Tickets)

Fri. Apr. 15 – Quebec City, QC @ La Meduse (Tickets)

Sat. Apr. 16 Carleton-sur-Mer, QC @ La Naufrageur (Tickets)

Wed. Apr. 20 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe (Tickets)

Thu. Apr. 21 – Ottawa, ON @ St. Albans Church (Tickets)

Fri. Apr. 22 – Toronto, ON @ Adelaide Hall (Tickets)

Sat. Apr. 23 – Athens, OH @ Ohio University at Casa Nueva

Sun. Apr. 24 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop Bar (Tickets)

Tue. Apr. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brendas (Tickets)

Wed. Apr. 27 – Washington, DC @ DC9 (Tickets)

Thu. Apr. 28 – New York, NY @ The Marlin Room at Webster Hall (Tickets)

Fri. Apr. 29 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott (Tickets)

Thu. May 19 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain (Tickets)

Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg (Tickets)

Sat. May 21 – Lille, FR @ Grand Mix (Tickets)

Sun. May 22 – Brussels, BE @ La Nuit De Botanique Festival (Tickets)

Tue. May 24 – London, UK @ ICA (Tickets)

Fri. May 27 – Neustreliz, DE @ Immergut Festival (Tickets)

Sat. May 28 – KleinReifling, AT @ Seewiesen Festival (Tickets)

Mon. May 30 – Paris, FR @La Villette Sonique (Tickets)

Wed. June 1 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound (Tickets)

Fri. June 3 – Lourmarin, FR @Festival YEAH (Tickets)

Sat. June 4- Mulhouse, FR @Noumatrouff (Tickets)

Sun. June 5 – Mannheim, DE @ Maifield Derby Festival (Tickets)

Tue. June 7-Yverdon les Bains, SW @L’Amalgame (Tickets)

Wed. June 8 – Rome, IT @ Monk (Tickets)

Thu. June 9 Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew Festival (Tickets)

Fri. June 17- Vancouver BC @Imperial // Levitation Vancouver (Tickets)

Sat. June 25- Calgary AB @Sled Island Festival (Tickets)