Bearing witness to the baroque clusterfuckery of the world is no longer voluntary. We are all forced to watch. Every possible catastrophe vibrates in our pockets, demanding to be witnessed. So what better soundtrack than something new from Alex Cameron?

In his second album, Forced Witness, out September 8th on Secretly Canadian, Alex Cameron’s solution to the difficulties we face is a danceable and dangerous earnestness, a sense of honesty that heals and relieves even as it cleaves us or makes us laugh in self-defense. He’s offering us vivid portraits of misfits who look at the world without illusion.

Recorded in Berlin, Los Angeles, and Las Vegas and produced by Cameron along with Foxygen‘s Jonathan Rado, these tracks at first seem shamelessly entertaining, the driving rhythms and rousing melodies embellished at every turn by Roy Molloy’s warm hornwork. But the love songs and anthems of personal resilience contain as much raw humanity as they do a savvy grasp of the impossible loneliness of the times, especially apparent in the song, “Stranger’s Kiss” – Cameron’s affecting duet with Angel Olsen (who also sings backup on lead single, “Candy May“).

If there is darkness in these songs, it’s not because taboos can titillate but because Cameron knows that confession has a redeeming power and that people are often at their most startlingly beautiful when their skies have fallen. These songs are alive with the rich detail of life lived and the radical distinctiveness of the stories they tell feel universal. In these chaotic times when we aren’t able to look away, Cameron is offering us a pure account of the world as he’s seen it.

Watch the video for “Candy May,” linked above, directed by Meghan McGarry. As she describes it, “Candy May is a visual, gut-wrenching longing, seeping out through the skin with a swagger that is distinctively Alex Cameron.”

Pre-order Forced Witness
https://alexcameron.lnk.to/forcedwitness

Forced Witness Tracklisting:
1. Candy May
2. Country Figs
3. Runnin’ Outta Luck
4. Stranger’s Kiss (Duet with Angel Olsen)
5. True Lies
6. Studmuffin96
7. The Chihuahua
8. The Hacienda
9. Marlon Brando
10. Politics Of Love


Alex Cameron Tour Dates:
Fri. June 30 Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Sat. July 8 London, UK @ BST Summer Time
Fri. July 14 Dour, BE @ Dour Festival
Sat. July 15 Tonsberg, NO @ Slottsfjell Festival
Mon. July 31 Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium #
Tue. Aug. 1 Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall #
Fri. Sun. Aug. 4-6 Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon
Thu. Aug. 17 Saint Malo, FR @ Route du Rock La Nouvelle Vague
Sat. Aug. 19 Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura
Wed. Aug. 23 Berlin, DE @ Pop Kultur
Thu. Aug. 24 Luxembourg, LU @ Rotondes
Fri. Aug. 25 Antwerp, BE @ Het Bos
Sat. Aug. 26 Leeds, UK @ This Must Be the Place Festival
Sun. Aug. 27 Liverpool, UK @ The Shipping Forecast
Mon. Aug. 28 Bristol, UK @ Louisiana, Bristol
Tue. Aug. 29 Newcastle, UK @ The Academy ^
Wed. Aug. 30 Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall ^
Thu. Aug. 31 London, UK @ The Lexington SOLD OUT
Sun. Sep. 3 Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Tue. Sep. 19 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar
Thu. Sep. 21 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder
Fri. Sep. 22 – Dallas, TX @ Double Wide Bar
Sat. Sep. 23 – New Orleans, LA @ Circle Bar
Tue. Sep. 26 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
Thu. Sep. 28 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout
Fri. Sep. 29 Bloomington, IN @ Blockhouse Bar
Sat. Sep. 30 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
Mon. Oct. 2 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd DC
Tue. Oct. 3 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brendas
Thu. Oct. 5 – Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Beaubien
Fri. Oct. 6 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs
Sat. Oct. 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC
Thu. Dec. 5 London, UK @ Scala
# = with Foster the People
^ = with Mac DeMarco