“There is still a loftiness to soil, but that DIY spirit also led to bigger hooks and more obvious grooves sounds [serpentwithfeet] says pay tribute to the dance music that permeated his youth in Baltimore, from the church to the club.” – The FADER

serpentwithfeet, one of the latest artists to sign to Secretly Canadian, is announcing his debut album, soil, for release on June 8th via Secretly Canadian and Tri Angle Records. soil features contributions from rising experimental producer mmph, sound manipulator Katie Gately, A$AP Rocky contemporary Clams Casino, and Paul Epworth one of the Grammy Award-winning minds responsible for Adele‘s critically-acclaimed album 21. The project, recorded between New York City’s WhiteWater production house and Epworth’s London studio, was co-produced by serpentwithfeet.

Stream and/or Purchase soil

serpentwithfeet is an experimental R&B/gospel vocalist and performance artist whose growing body of work is rooted in dueling obsessions with the ephemeral and the everlasting key components of his artistic journey from a childhood stint as a choirboy in Baltimore through his time at The University of the Arts in Philadelphia, where he studied vocal performance before relocating to New York City. soil is a return to the sensibilities and wide-eyed curiosity of his musical youth before symmetry and sterile soundscapes ruled the roost. With the release of soil the chameleonic serpentwithfeet (born Josiah Wise) rediscovers and ultimately returns to the unhinged version of himself he was sure he had outgrown.

On soil, serpentwithfeet trades glossolalia and peacocking showmanship for intricately layered harmonies, a sumptuous bottom register that appears for the first time to challenge his fluttering tenor, and ballsy sonic experimentation encouraged by Gately, whose talent he describes as “making voices sound like elephants and elephants sound like car engines.” Together they develop an unctuous sound that suggests billowing clouds and the dense, plodding stomp of 12-bar blues. Once concerned with perfect execution of gospel runs and dishing up a gossamer falsetto, serpentwithfeet is out of balance and reveling in the concept of mess on soil. Particularly, what it means to part ways with sterility and the urge to uncoil himself in order to occupy more space. soil is the moment at which he unfolds himself with zero intention of closing back up.

serpentwithfeet Tour Dates:
Tue. June 19 San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall (w/ Katie Gately)
Thu. June 21 Portland, OR @ Holocene (w/ Katie Gately)
Fri. June 22 Seattle, WA @ Barboza (w/ Katie Gately)
Sat. June 23 Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore Cabaret (w/ Katie Gately)
Mon. June 25 Washington, DC @ DC9 (w/ Lee Mo)
Tue. June 26 Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brendas (w/ Lee Mo)
Wed. June 27 Boston, MA @ Great Scott (w/ Lee Mo)
Fri. June 29 Toronto, ON @ The Drake (w/ Lee Mo)
Sun. July 1 Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle (w/ Lee Mo)
Fri. July 6-Sat. July 7 Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires
Tue. July 17 Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sun. July 29 Tokyo, JP @ Fuji Rock
Wed. Aug. 8 London, UK @ Royal Albert Hall (BBC Proms w/ Sharvon Van Etten, Hercules & Love Affair)
Fri. Aug 10 Copenhagen, DK @ Haven
Sat. Oct. 13-Sun. Oct. 14 Oakland, CA @ Treasure Island Music Festival
Sun. Oct. 14 Atlanta, GA @ Afropunk Festival