serpentwithfeet is sharing his new single, “seedless,” ahead of the release of soil, his debut album out this Friday, June 8th on Secretly Canadian and Tri Angle Records. Co-produced with Clams Casino, “seedless” pokes fun at serpentwithfeet’s overbearing presence in the lives of partners. serpentwithfeet tinkers with the extremes of his ideals to illustrate the ways in which past partners have felt oppressed by his need.

Pre-order soil

At once whimsical and mechanical, soil traverses the depths of human emotion in search of love. The music inspired by “intense collaborative work” is an extension of the mourning ritual a crestfallen serpentwithfeet first created to grieve heartbreak. He cites influences as varied as lullabies, an affinity for pungent body odor, his doll collection, and his mothers love of traditional hymns. soil conjures his early fascinations with Brandy and Bjork as easily as it references the pageantry of anthemic compositions by Antonin Dvorak and the ecstatic praise of the black church.

serpentwithfeet will begin his tour in support of soil later this month on the West Coast. His is a must-see live show as witnessed at the recent “Both Moons” performance for Red Bull Music Festival New York and detailed by Jezebel. After the run of headline dates, serpentwithfeet will play select shows at Eaux Claires, BBC Proms, Treasure Island Music Festival, Afropunk Festival and more.

serpentwithfeet Tour Dates:
Tue. June 19 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall (w/ Katie Gately)
Thu. June 21 – Portland, OR @ Holocene (w/ Katie Gately)
Fri. June 22 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza (w/ Katie Gately)
Sat. June 23 – Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore Cabaret (w/ Katie Gately)
Mon. June 25 – Washington, DC @ DC9 (w/ Lee Mo)
Tue. June 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s (w/ Lee Mo)
Wed. June 27 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott (w/ Lee Mo)
Fri. June 29 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake (w/ Lee Mo)
Sun. July 1 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle (w/ Lee Mo)
Fri. July 6-Sat. July 7 – Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires
Tue. July 17 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sun. July 29 – Tokyo, JP @ Fuji Rock
Wed. Aug. 8 – London, UK @ Royal Albert Hall (BBC Proms w/ Sharvon Van Etten, Hercules & Love Affair)
Fri. Aug 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Haven
Sat. Oct. 13-Sun. Oct. 14 – Oakland, CA @ Treasure Island Music Festival
Sun. Oct. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Afropunk Festival