Filed Under:cayucos

LISTEN // Cayucas ‘Dancing at the Blue Lagoon’ Now Streaming Via Hype Machine

cayu_DATBL--cover-front-FINAL

Cayucas new album, Dancing at the Blue Lagoon, is currently streaming in full via Hype Machine until its release next Tuesday, June 23rd on Secretly Canadian. Continuing where they left off on their 2013 debut, Bigfoot, twin brothers Zach and Ben Yudin maintain the band’s summery atmosphere, while deepening their California roots with lyrics focusing on their upbringing in the suburbs of Sacramento. Coated in poppy nostalgia, Dancing at the Blue Lagoon is the perfect album for a sunny day.

Following the release of Dancing at the Blue Lagoon, Cayucas will take to the road for a massive summer tour running through July and August. The North American dates are bookended by a special KCRW Summer Nights performance and a stop at Music Fest NW. A full list of shows is below.

Pre-order Dancing at the Blue Lagoon via SCD, Amazon, iTunes, or your local record store.

CAYUCAS TOUR DATES
[All dates + tickets here: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Sat. June 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ One Colorado (KCRW’s Summer Nights)
Tue. July 14 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Wed. July 15 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room
Thu. July 16 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon
Sat. July 18 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Mon. July 20 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Wed. July 22 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room
Thu. July 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry
Fri. July 24 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. July 25 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch
Sun. July 26 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Tue. July 28 – Albany, NY @ The Hollow
Wed. July 29 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Fri. July 31 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Sat. Aug. 1 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Mon. Aug. 3 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Wed. Aug. 5 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Thu. Aug. 6 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Fri. Aug. 7 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s
Sat. Aug. 8 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Sun. Aug. 9 – Austin, TX @ The Parish
Sat. Aug. 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey
Sat. Aug. 15 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Soho Restaurant & Music Club
Sun. Aug. 16 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium
Mon. Aug. 17 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Thu. Aug. 20 – Vancouver, CA @ Electric Owl
Fri. Aug. 21 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Sat. Aug. 22 – Portland, OR @ Music Fest NW
Mon. Sept. 14 – London, UK @ Sebright Arms
Tue. Sept. 15 – Lille, FR @ Peniche
Wed. Sept. 16 – Paris, FR @ Pop Up Du Label
Thu. Sept. 17 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Fri. Sept. 18 – Tilburg, NL @ Incubate
Sat. Sept. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Kleiner Donner
Mon. Sept. 21 – Leipzig, DE @ Taubchental Club
Tue. Sept. 22 – Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Wed. Sept. 23 – Dusseldorf, DE @ Forum Freies
Thu. Sept. 24 – Antwerp, BE @ Trix

WATCH // Cayucas Share “Moony Eyed Walrus” Video, ‘Dancing At The Blue Lagoon’ Out 6/23


[Cayucas] new single Moony Eyed Walrus brings a more refined but nonetheless infectious energy. It’s the kind of rock music that the summer beckons and we predict this will be on heavy rotation this year.
Cool Hunting

The surf is gnarly on this song, with groovy guitar stabs, big drums, and sweeps crashing together to propel the track forward. A couple of head-bobbing breakdowns are definitely worth mention too. The time away has done them well.
Stereogum

Because tropical + jangly / breezy = summer song. Period.
Esquire

Dancing at the Blue Lagoon, the new album from Cayucas, is out June 23rd on Secretly Canadian. The band has already shared the summery pop perfect lead single, ‘Moony Eyed Walrus’, which takes surf guitar into fragmented, unpredictable places. The song’s new video, filmed in Big Sur’s Limekiln State Park, north of Cayucos, the band’s namesake town, sees Zach and Ben Yudin carrying a surfboard amongst lush greenery, waterfalls and redwoods that epitomize the beauty of Cayucas’ former home and wonderfully complement the sun-drenched, jangly California vibes of their music. The Wall Street Journal describes ‘Moony Eyed Walrus’ as “effervescent.”
Director Nolan Goff says, “It started with Zach sending me the Pixies‘ ‘Velouria’ video which is pretty simple and off-the-wall, and we decided to try a kind of spooky, little surf film. One that’s more about the forest standing between, than the beach on the other side.”

Cayucas will embark on a massive tour in support of Dancing at the Blue Lagoon starting next month. The North American dates are bookended by a special KCRW Summer Nights performance and a stop at Music Fest NW. A full list of shows is below after the jump.

Pre-order Dancing at the Blue Lagoon via SCD, Amazon, iTunes, or your local record store.

Read the rest of this entry »

Secretly Canadian Welcomes Cayucas to the Family, Watch New Video for “Cayucos” Single

Get More:
www.mtvu.com

What a wonderful day! Secretly Canadian welcomes our newest signee, Cayucas, to the family. Led by Zach Yudin, Cayucas is California through-and-through. Each song is a perfectly crafted pop gem, complete with catchy, addicting melodies, syncopated rhythms and a breezy chorus of vocals. They release their “Cayucos” b/w “Swimsuit” 7″ next Tuesday, October 16. Pre-order your copy HERE. We look forward to a proper, Richard Swift produced full-length come 2013!

Today we get our first musical taste from Cayucas. Premiering this morning at MTVu, it’s the video for their new single “Cayucos.” Calling the video “a throwback to the timelessness of the beach and the people you share such a fond place with,” director Nolan Wilson Goff chose Corona Del Mar Beach and Whittier, CA as the backdrop to the video. Get your sunglasses, towel and swimsuit ready; we’re going to the beach >>> enjoy the video above!

“Take one gorgeous blonde with a flare for excellent summer dresses, throw in four awkwardly cute indie rockers, mix with one scenic beach and you get the catchy-as-hell, super fun to watch new video by Cayucas.” – MTVu

Here’s a treat for your Wednesday! Zach shares a new Spotify playlist with songs he’s lived with for the last year or so. Listen below!

***************************************************************
Stay in the know with Cayucas! Follow the band on Facebook and Twitter!
***************************************************************

“All i can really say about these songs is that I’ve listened to them a lot over the past year or so… & they’ve inspired me very much. It’s a mixture of new indie stuff, as well as oldies that I had to dig up from my CD collection & rediscover. For some reason or another, I love these songs…” – Zach

AUDIO

Falling by Here We Go Magic
Ordinary Feeling by Here We Go Magic
Fixations by Gardens & Villa
Everybody by Gardens & Villa
Not You by Steven A. Clark
Moony Eyed Walrus by Cayucas
Gazelles In Flight by Suuns
Blue Chicago Moon by Songs: Ohia
Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness

VIDEOS

Everybody by Gardens & Villa

Can't Have by Steven A. Clark

Falling by Here We Go Magic

Fixations by Gardens & Villa

COMING SOON

Steven A. Clark
The Lonely Roller
CD / LP
Here We Go Magic
Be Small
CD / LP

SHOWS TODAY

Here We Go Magic
London, UK - Electrowerkz

See all upcoming shows