Filed Under:emusic

WATCH // Nightlands Shares New “I Fell In Love With A Feeling” Video, Releases Sophomore Album – ‘Oak Island’

Dave Hartley, the man behind Nightlands and bassist for The War On Drugs, releases his sophomore album Oak Island. The record is a sci-fi exploration of love – a journey only available in an aural space. It is easy to fall in love with this album and after a listen or two, you’ll find it increasingly hard to go. A certain curiosity grows into everlasting fascination. Don’t believe me? Start with the new video and let us know how it goes (watch above).

If you are late to game and did not pre-order the record, get your copy now – available at SC Distribution, local record stores and iTunes!

Oak Island Oak Island Oak Island

“The pairing of these beautifully harmonized vocals with drum beats that go back and forth between a lazy laid back afternoon day and the busy decent into night life give Oak Island a sense of late 1970s summer touched with golden sunlight.”The Vinyl District

“Oak Island is both an untamed beast and an inviting fantasy world worth inhabiting.”eMusic

“So it goes on Oak Island, 35 minutes of romantic and robotic soft rock, a crush mixtape for the Uncanny Valley….it’s a fantastic accompaniment for winter: so much of the digitally processed and pitch-shifted guitar shimmers like tinsel, the percussion jingles, nylon strings, and dulcimers contribute to a mix that’s thick and boozy as eggnog.”PITCHFORK

All Are Welcome In // Damien Jurado Performs Live at eMusic, ‘Maraqopa Deluxe Edition’ Now Available

While in New York earlier this fall, Damien Jurado stopped by the eMusic offices to perform songs from his critically acclaimed album, Maraqopa. Today, we get the first glimpse of the live sessions, filmed by Oresti Tsonopoulos. “All are welcome in.” Watch Damien perform “Maraqopa” and “Museum of Flight” above.

Damien’s Maraqopa Deluxe Edition is now available exclusively at eMusic. It comes complete with six new tracks (see listing below)! Already own Maraqopa? That is certainly okay. These six new tracks are also available on the Maraqopa Sessions EP. Head to eMusic for the deluxe edition and the EP. Enjoy!

Damien ends his wonderful year with one more show. He will perform at the beautiful Saint Mark’s Cathedral in Seattle on December 14. Tickets and show information.

Maraqopa EP Tracklisting:
1. Wherever I May Lay
2. Static To Be Sold
3. Wyoming Songbirds
4. Let Us All In
5. Diamond Sea
6. Christmas Time Is Here

Happy Release Day! Jens Lekman’s ‘I Know What Love Isn’t’ Out Now

Happy release day to our dearest Jens Lekman! His first studio full-length in over four years is now available at SC Distrubtion (deluxe bundle feat. an exclusive 7″), your local record store or iTunes. Give the entire album a listen at Spinner’s Listening Party and check out the video for the title track below!

Tour tour tour! Jens heads out on the European leg of his tour with Sophia Brous later this week. Labelmates Taken By Trees will then join him for North American dates. See the full list of shows HERE.

EMusic just instated their first site takeover and wouldn’t yah know, it’s for Jens and his new album! Check out his most recent interview HERE and stay tuned for more fun!

“Thirty years since Abba dissolved, their fellow Swedish pop intellectual Jens Lekman presents his own break-up album, and the quite wonderful I Know What Love Isn’t can be safely filed as a masterpiece of the hankies-ready splinter genre. This sophisticated, grown-up pop craftsmanship ought to elevate the 31-year-old from Gothenburg from his present existence as niche indie concern to classic songwriter status. Lekman, like fellow Swede Frida Hyvonen, makes wonderful use of language. “You don’t get over a broken heart,” he professes poignantly on The World Moves On, “you just learn to carry it gracefully.” On the crushing I Want A Pair Of Cowboy Boots, he appears to serve up an echo of Gordon Lightfoot’s If You Could Read My Mind. This is the level of company that Lekman belongs in now.” – John Skilbeck, 9/10 – Associated Press

Emusic’s Porcelain Raft Video Experience

“Strange Weekend is the snapshot of time. You don’t know what’s going on or you know something’s going on.” – Mauro Remiddi

A few weeks ago emusic invited unsuspecting New Yorkers to join in on a Porcelain Raft video shoot. By utilizing some technological trickery, they set up a speaker so music would play while people stood in a certain spot. What happened next was pure reaction and it’s all caught on film, with Mauro’s “Picture” as the guiding force. Sure it’s strange and maybe even a little weird, but at it’s best the experiment shows people behaving in their natural form. It’s difficult not to smile as you see how the unexpected can lead to true joy. Watch above.


No Woman by Whitney
Exit 353 by Damien Jurado
Falling by Here We Go Magic
Ordinary Feeling by Here We Go Magic
Tokyo London US Korea by Here We Go Magic
Not You by Steven A. Clark


Translate by Suuns

You And Me by Ben Abraham

Exit 353 by Damien Jurado

Big Winter Jacket by Cayucas


Damien Jurado
Visions of Us on the Land
CD / 2xLP
Ben Abraham
CD / 2xLP


There are no shows at this time.

See all upcoming shows