Filed Under:EP

G&V EP // Gardens & Villa Announce Free ‘Televisor’ EP, Listen To “Love Affair”, On Tour Now




Celebrating a successful string of summer shows and a new slew of fall tour dates starting tomorrow night, Gardens & Villa have released a new EP Televisor for free via their website www.gardensandvilla.com. Premiering via Stereogum this morning, preview the new EP with “Love Affair (Swift Demo)” above or on our Youtube / Soundcloud.

According to the band, Televisor is a collection of musical sketches, the majority of which were playfully brought into existence when they stopped by Richard Swift‘s National Freedom studio in February of 2012. During psychological experiments inspired by Carl Jung’s ‘Liber Novus’ they reflected on madness and greatness, searching for inspiration in redeeming symbols: smoke, mirrors and the late night hiss. Some danced in-between takes or barked like a train. The band later described their time with Swift as “a fun and frenzied recording, undertaken during professional hysterics.” The other pieces of Televisor were selected from the Dunes recordings with Tim Goldsworthy in 2013. Together these sessions represent some of the more hidden, shrouded sinews of a sonic structure, the unseen movements and psychedelic corridors of Gardens & Villa.

If you haven’t already, pick up their new album Dunes Dunes from iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution, or your local record store.


GV-Televisor_1-yellow

TELEVISOR EP TRACK LIST
1. Bullet Train (Swift Demo)
2. Love Affair (Swift Demo)
3. Minnesota (Swift Demo)
4. Sleepy Willow (Goldsworthy Demo)
5. Window Man (Goldsworthy Demo


UPCOMING TOUR DATES:

[Tickets: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Fri. Sept. 12 – San Luis Obispo, CA @ SLO Brewing Company
Sat. Sept. 13 – Sacramento, CA @ THIS Block Party
Thurs. Sept. 18 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
Fri. Sept. 19 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Constellation Room
Sat. Sept. 20 – Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon
Mon. Sept. 22 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Tues. Sept. 23 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Thurs. Sept. 25 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Fri. Sept. 26 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Sat. Sept. 27 – Cincinnati, OH @ MidPoint Music Festival
Sun. Sept. 28 – Champaign-Urbana, IL @ Pygmalion Music Festival
Tues. Sept. 30 – Nashville, TN @ High Watt
Wed. Oct. 1 – Asheville, NC @ The Mill Room
Thurs. Oct. 2 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Fri. Oct. 3 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle (Back Room)
Sat. Oct. 4 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Sun. Oct. 5 – Philadelpha, PA @ Johnny’s Brenda’s
Tues. Oct. 7 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Wed. Oct. 8 – Providence, RI @ Fete Lounge
Thurs. Oct. 9 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. Oct. 10 – Rochester, NY @ Lovin’ Cup
Sat. Oct. 11 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Sun. Oct. 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
Tues. Oct. 14 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Wed. Oct. 15 – Pontiac, MI @ The Pike Room at The Crofoot
Thurs. Oct. 16 – Indianapolis, IN @ Radio Radio
Fri. Oct. 17 – Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin: der Rathskeller
Sat. Oct. 18 – Ames, IA @ The Maintenance Shop
Sun. Oct. 19 – Kansas City, MO @ The recordBar
Tues. Oct. 21 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Wed. Oct. 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thurs. Nov. 6 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
Fri. Nov. 7 – San Antonio, TX @ 502 Bar
Sun. Nov. 9 – Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest
Thurs. Nov. 20 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
Fri. Nov. 21 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Sat. Nov. 22 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Sat. Dec. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex

WATCH // Major Lazer “Come On To Me” (feat. Sean Paul) Directed By Ruben Fleischer

Check out the new video for Major Lazer‘s “Come On To Me” featuring Grammy award winning & platinum selling dancehall artist, Sean Paul from their Apocalypse Soon EP, out now via Mad Decent / Secretly Canadian. The video, inspired by classical Kabuki theatre known for the stylization and elaborate make-up worn by the performers and directed by Ruben Fleischer [Zombieland, 30 Minutes or Less]. Watch the VEVO premiered video above or here on Major Lazer’s VEVO channel.

Get the new Apocalypse Soon EP out out now worldwide via Secretly Canadian/Mad Decent on iTunes here.

For more info on Major Lazer click here.
See all upcoming tour dates.

For more Major Lazer news follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram or Major Lazer on Facebook, Twitter, Soundcloud, or visit majorlazer.com


TOUR DATES:
May 24th – Surrender Nightclub – Las Vegas, NV
May 25th – Sasquatch Festival – Quincy, WA
June 1st – Encore Beach Club – Las Vegas, NV
June 19th – Encore Beach Club – Las Vegas, NV
July 4th – Rock Werchter – Werchter, Belgium
July 5th – Roskilde – Roskilde, Denmark
August 3rd – XS Nightclub – Las Vegas, NV
September 1st – Encore Beach Club – Las Vegas, NV
September 7th – Bestival – Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
October 3rd-5th – Austin, TX – Austin City Limits
October 10th – XS Nightclub – Las Vegas, NV
October 10th-12th – Austin, TX – Austin City Limits

EP ANNOUNCE // Steven A. Clark Shares “Lonely Roller” Stream, New EP ‘LATE’ Out Now


We are excited to announce a new addition to the Secretly Canadian roster today: the incredible R&B singer Steven A. Clark. The Miami singer, by way of North Carolina, is making his debut on SC with LATE, a 3 song EP which he mostly wrote and self-produced. Listen to the first track from the album “Lonely Roller” above or on our YouTube / Soundcloud via SPIN premiere.

You can download the new EP out today on iTunes, Amazon, and via SC Distribution.

For more info follow Steven on Facebook and Twitter.

WATCH // Tomas Barfod Shares ‘Happy’ Video Via Noisey Premiere, ‘Pulsing’ EP Out Now

We’ve all danced alone at home to our favorite song. The only difference with the man in Tomas Barfod’s newest video for “Happy” is that his dancing is accompanied by a perfectly timed light show and I would say he is a much more talented dancer compared to my “get down” skills. While you gather your surge protectors and the neighborhood kids to hit the “On/Off” switch at just the right time, take a look at a master at work by watching the new video for “Happy” directed by Jakob Marky above via Noisey‘s premiere or here on our YouTube channel.

Happy features the vocals of Eddie Chacon. If you want to listen while you attempt to dance just like the man above you can hear it on our Soundcloud.

The track is taken from Barfod’s recently released Pulsing EP which you can get on iTunes here.

Tomas has a few tour dates coming up including a show in London at Birthdays on May 8th.


04/03 | New York, NYThe Studio at Webster Hall TIX
04/04 | Philadelphia, PAThe Dolphin TIX
04/05 Miami, FLThe Garret (Grand Central) TIX
05/03 Los Angeles, CABootleg Bar
05/03 | London, UK – Birthdays – TIX

EP RELEASE // Major Lazer ‘Apocalypse Soon’ EP Out Now

Get Major Lazer‘s new Apocalypse Soon EP out out today worldwide on iTunes here.

For more info, head here.
See all upcoming tour dates here.

Follow Major Lazer on Facebook, Twitter, Soundcloud, or visit majorlazer.com

AUDIO

Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness
All White Everything by JJ
Wedding Day by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon
Her Ghost by Woman's Hour
Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) by Major Lazer
Pulsing (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod
Red Eyes by The War On Drugs

VIDEOS

Runaway by Electric Youth

Dynasti by JJ

Sunspot by Suuns

COMING SOON

Songs: Ohia
Didn't It Rain (Deluxe Edition)
2XCD / 2XLP

SHOWS TODAY

The War On Drugs
Arhus, DK - Voxhall

Tig Notaro
Pontiac, MI - Crofoot Ballroom

See all upcoming shows