Filed Under:KCRW

WATCH // Gardens & Villa Share Video For “Everybody”


Today is a big day for Los Angeles’ Gardens & Villa. Their new record, Music For Dogs has been out for just over a week, and they’re sharing the video for the second single off the album, Everybody, premiered alongside an excellent feature in The Los Angeles Times. Also, they’ll appear on KCRW’s prestigious morning live performance program, “Morning Becomes Eclectic,” later today at 11:15 AM PST/2:15 PM EST. Be sure to tune in here!

Also, the band has released their new album on gorgeous clear vinyl, which can be purchased from the Secretly Canadian website. Check it out here!


Finally, the band will be embarking on a massive tour that will take them across North America, so if you like what you hear on KCRW this morning, don’t miss out on seeing them live!

Purchase Music For Dogs:
Secretly Canadian // iTunes // Amazon // Support your local record store

(more info and tix here)

Tue. Sept. 15 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom w/ James Supercave
Thu. Sept. 17 – Austin, TX @ The Parish w/ Palehound
Fri. Sept. 18 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada w/ Palehound
Sat. Sept. 19 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues/Bronze Peacock w/ Palehound
Sun. Sept. 20 – New Orleans @ Gasa Gasa w/ Palehound
Tue. Sept. 22 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5 w/ Palehound
Wed. Sept. 23 – Carrboro, NC @ Cats Cradle w/ Palehound
Thu. Sept. 24 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel w/ Palehound
Fri. Sept. 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg w/ Palehound
Sat. Sept. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle w/ Palehound
Tue. Sept. 29 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Wed. Sept. 30 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDB w/ Palehound
Thu. Oct. 1 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison w/ American Wrestlers
Fri. Oct. 2 – Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory w/ American Wrestlers
Sat. Oct. 3 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/ American Wrestlers
Sun. Oct. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry w/ American Wrestlers
Tue. Oct. 6 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Wed. Oct. 7 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge w/ James Supercave
Thu. Oct. 8 – Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon w/ James Supercave
Fri. Oct. 9 – San Diego, CA @ IRENIC w/ James Supercave
Sat. Oct. 10 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriets w/ James Supercave
Thu. Nov. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy w/ De Lux
Sat. Nov. 14 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlows Restaurant & Nightclub w/ De Lux
Mon. Nov. 16 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ De Lux
Tue. Nov. 17 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt w/ De Lux
Wed. Nov. 18 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge w/ De Lux
Fri. Nov. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent w/ De Lux

LISTEN // Cayucas ‘Dancing at the Blue Lagoon’ Now Streaming Via Hype Machine


Cayucas new album, Dancing at the Blue Lagoon, is currently streaming in full via Hype Machine until its release next Tuesday, June 23rd on Secretly Canadian. Continuing where they left off on their 2013 debut, Bigfoot, twin brothers Zach and Ben Yudin maintain the band’s summery atmosphere, while deepening their California roots with lyrics focusing on their upbringing in the suburbs of Sacramento. Coated in poppy nostalgia, Dancing at the Blue Lagoon is the perfect album for a sunny day.

Following the release of Dancing at the Blue Lagoon, Cayucas will take to the road for a massive summer tour running through July and August. The North American dates are bookended by a special KCRW Summer Nights performance and a stop at Music Fest NW. A full list of shows is below.

Pre-order Dancing at the Blue Lagoon via SCD, Amazon, iTunes, or your local record store.

[All dates + tickets here:]
Sat. June 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ One Colorado (KCRW’s Summer Nights)
Tue. July 14 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Wed. July 15 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room
Thu. July 16 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon
Sat. July 18 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Mon. July 20 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Wed. July 22 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room
Thu. July 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry
Fri. July 24 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. July 25 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch
Sun. July 26 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Tue. July 28 – Albany, NY @ The Hollow
Wed. July 29 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Fri. July 31 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Sat. Aug. 1 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Mon. Aug. 3 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Wed. Aug. 5 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Thu. Aug. 6 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Fri. Aug. 7 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s
Sat. Aug. 8 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Sun. Aug. 9 – Austin, TX @ The Parish
Sat. Aug. 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey
Sat. Aug. 15 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Soho Restaurant & Music Club
Sun. Aug. 16 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium
Mon. Aug. 17 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Thu. Aug. 20 – Vancouver, CA @ Electric Owl
Fri. Aug. 21 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Sat. Aug. 22 – Portland, OR @ Music Fest NW
Mon. Sept. 14 – London, UK @ Sebright Arms
Tue. Sept. 15 – Lille, FR @ Peniche
Wed. Sept. 16 – Paris, FR @ Pop Up Du Label
Thu. Sept. 17 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Fri. Sept. 18 – Tilburg, NL @ Incubate
Sat. Sept. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Kleiner Donner
Mon. Sept. 21 – Leipzig, DE @ Taubchental Club
Tue. Sept. 22 – Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Wed. Sept. 23 – Dusseldorf, DE @ Forum Freies
Thu. Sept. 24 – Antwerp, BE @ Trix

WATCH // Cayucas Share “Moony Eyed Walrus” Video, ‘Dancing At The Blue Lagoon’ Out 6/23

[Cayucas] new single Moony Eyed Walrus brings a more refined but nonetheless infectious energy. It’s the kind of rock music that the summer beckons and we predict this will be on heavy rotation this year.
Cool Hunting

The surf is gnarly on this song, with groovy guitar stabs, big drums, and sweeps crashing together to propel the track forward. A couple of head-bobbing breakdowns are definitely worth mention too. The time away has done them well.

Because tropical + jangly / breezy = summer song. Period.

Dancing at the Blue Lagoon, the new album from Cayucas, is out June 23rd on Secretly Canadian. The band has already shared the summery pop perfect lead single, ‘Moony Eyed Walrus’, which takes surf guitar into fragmented, unpredictable places. The song’s new video, filmed in Big Sur’s Limekiln State Park, north of Cayucos, the band’s namesake town, sees Zach and Ben Yudin carrying a surfboard amongst lush greenery, waterfalls and redwoods that epitomize the beauty of Cayucas’ former home and wonderfully complement the sun-drenched, jangly California vibes of their music. The Wall Street Journal describes ‘Moony Eyed Walrus’ as “effervescent.”
Director Nolan Goff says, “It started with Zach sending me the Pixies‘ ‘Velouria’ video which is pretty simple and off-the-wall, and we decided to try a kind of spooky, little surf film. One that’s more about the forest standing between, than the beach on the other side.”

Cayucas will embark on a massive tour in support of Dancing at the Blue Lagoon starting next month. The North American dates are bookended by a special KCRW Summer Nights performance and a stop at Music Fest NW. A full list of shows is below after the jump.

Pre-order Dancing at the Blue Lagoon via SCD, Amazon, iTunes, or your local record store.

Read the rest of this entry »

Sunlight In Song Form // Cayucas Perform Pool-Side

If Cayucas came in egg form, they’d be sunny side up. Too much? Let’s get back on track. The band sat pool-side at Palm Springs’ Ace Hotel late one morning for a performance of “High School Lover.” It’s all for KCRW / NPR’s Field Recording sessions. The end result is perfect and only further proves Cayucas’s recently released Bigfoot is THE album for summer 2013. Watch above.

Cayucas kick off their tour next week at the Food For Your Senses Festival. They’ll play a few additional shows in Europe, and then it is off to the States for their first headlining tour. Dates and links HERE.

Happy Release Day // Cayucas’s ‘Bigfoot’ Out Now, Stream at KCRW

It’s Tuesday and that can only mean one thing – RELEASE DAY! Cayucas’s debut album, Bigfoot, is now available at iTunes, SC Distribution (for translucent blue vinyl) and Amazon. You can also head out to your favorite record store for the album! Interested in hearing the record right away? Lucky for you KCRW is streaming Bigfoot in full. Head HERE to listen.

Finally, Cayucas celebrate release day with a free in-store performance at Echo Park’s Origami Vinyl. The ice cream man will be there handing out free treats too! Sounds like the perfect Tuesday night. You will have the opportunity to see Cayucas live across North America – dates and ticket links HERE.


This is a feel-good hug of an album, which will transport you to the care-free, peace and love West Coast in a matter of minutes. And it’s much cheaper than a flight.This is Fake DIY

Bigfoot is bittersweet; cheerful and charming in small doses, and – as that’s all you get – it’s time well spent.The Line Of Best Fit

Cayucas’ Bigfoot is a short and sweet instant charmer. The album’s eight songs each hover around the 3 and a half-minute mark, never overstaying their welcome. The sound is relentlessly warm and tropical, with rickety high-pitched keys, light and breezy percussion, and calm, echoed vocals.Pretty Much Amazing


Falling by Here We Go Magic
Ordinary Feeling by Here We Go Magic
Tokyo London US Korea by Here We Go Magic
Fixations by Gardens & Villa
Everybody by Gardens & Villa
Not You by Steven A. Clark
Moony Eyed Walrus by Cayucas
Gazelles In Flight by Suuns
Blue Chicago Moon by Songs: Ohia
Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness


Tokyo London US Korea by Here We Go Magic

In Touch by Suuns

Hella by Cayucas

Everybody by Gardens & Villa


Here We Go Magic
Be Small


Gardens & Villa
San Diego, CA - IRENIC

Major Lazer
Copenhagen, DNK - The Forum  w/ Snakehips, Elliphant

Tangiers, Morocco - Nuits Sonores Tanger

See all upcoming shows