Filed Under:NME

LISTEN // Damien Jurado Streams Bonus Track “Silver Katherine”, Tour Dates in February

“17 years after his debut, Water Ave. S, Jurado sounds more enchanting – and more enchanted – than he ever has.”

Aquarium Drunkard

“A one-man Crosby, Stills & Nash”

NME

“Damien Jurado is very, very good for the soul.”

Under the Radar

Today, Damien Jurado has shared a gorgeous alternative version of his song “Silver Katherine”, off of the deluxe version of his latest album Brothers and Sisters of the Eternal Son. The bonus set of songs on the deluxe album was recorded in the acoustically-brilliant Freemond Abbey in Seattle with the help of the Silver Sisters Choir. Additionally, starting next February Damien will be on the road again, this time in support of Jason Isbell. Full dates are below.

Get Brothers and Sisters of the Eternal Son via SC Distribution, or the regular version of the album from iTunes, Amazon, and your local record store.

DAMIEN JURADO TOUR DATES
Sat. Oct. 11 – Pasadena, CA @ Taste of South Lake (FREE)
Sun. Oct. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg HiFi
Mon. Feb. 2 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Paramount %
Wed. Feb. 4 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre %
Thurs. Feb. 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Keswick Theatre %
Sat. Feb. 7 – New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre %
Mon. Feb. 9 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Carnegie Library Music Hall %
Tues. Feb. 10 – Columbus, OH @ The Southern Theatre %
Thurs. Feb. 12 – Chicago, IL @ Symphony Hall %
Fri. Feb. 13 – Kalamazoo, MI @ Kalamazoo State Theatre %
Sun. Feb. 15 – Des Moines, IA @ Hoyt Sherman Theatre %
Wed. Feb. 18 – Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theater %

% = w/ Jason Isbell

ALBUM RELEASE // Woman’s Hour ‘Conversations” Out Now In US, July 21st In UK



London four-piece Woman’s Hour‘s highly anticipated debut album Conversations is out now in the US and July 21st in the UK.

Grab the new album via iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution / deluxe bundle, and your local record store.

“Their refined blend of yearning bedsit indie pop and sleek 80s soul is meticulously smooth.”

The Guardian

“reminiscent of Beach House’s darkly quixotic work, saturated with fragility and painful longing.”

Pitchfork

“Shades of The xx and a softer Grimes while sounding more interesting than your regular synth pop clones.”

NME

US tour dates start October 9th in DC. Rest of the dates including festivals across Europe can be found below.

TOUR DATES:
[tickets: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Sat. June 21- Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Sun. July 6 – Rotterdam, NL @ Metropolis Festival
Sat. July 19 – Hertfordshire, UK @ Farr Festival
Sun. July 20 – Suffolk, UK @ Latitude Festival
Fri. July 25 – Topcliffe, UK @ Deer Shed Festival
Sun July 27 – Sheffield, UK @ Tramlines Festival
Sun. Aug. 3 – Kendal, UK @ Kendal Calling
Fri. Aug. 8 – Skipton, UK @ Beacons Festival
Sat. Aug. 16 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Fri. Aug. 29 – Bingley, UK @ Bingley Music Live
Thu. Sept. 4 – Isle of Wight, UK @ Bestival
Tue. Sept. 23 – London, UK @ Village Underground
Wed. Sept. 24 – Oxford, UK @ The Jericho Tavern
Thu. Sept. 25 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Fri. Sept. 26 – Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall
Sat. Sept. 27 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute
Wed. Oct. 1 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Thu. Oct. 2 – New York, NY @ The Mercury Lounge
Fri. Oct. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Sat. Oct. 4 – Oneonta, NY @ SUNY Oneonta – Fine Arts Building Room
Mon. Oct. 6 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel
Tue. Oct. 7 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Thu. Oct. 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Fri. Oct. 10 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Tue. Oct. 14 – Bristol, UK @ The Exchange
Wed. Oct. 15 – Nottingham, UK @ Stealth
Thu. Oct. 16 – Glasgow, UK @ Tuts
Fri. Oct. 17 – Liverpool, UK @ East Village Loft
Sat. Oct. 18 – Cardiff, UK @ Buffalo Bar
Tue. Oct. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotov Exil
Wed. Oct. 22 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine
Fri. Oct. 24 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Sat. Oct. 25 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique/Witloofbar
Tue. Oct. 28 – Oslo, NO @ Vanguard
Wed. Oct. 29 – Stockholm, SE @ Lilla Hotellbaren
Thu. Oct. 30 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar

SINGLE ANNOUNCE // Woman’s Hour Announces 7″ Single ‘Her Ghost’ Out March 24th, EU / US Tour Starts Tonight

We are pleased to announce new Secretly Canadian artist Woman’s Hour. Hailing from London via Kendal, the four-piece group of Fiona Burgess, William Burgess, Josh Hunnisett, and Nicolas Graves, announce a new single Her Ghost out physically in the UK only March 24th, and available digitally worldwide now. The group, named the 6th most blogged band of the year according to 6 Music and Hype Machine also won praise from Pitchfork calling them “Reminiscent of Beach House’s darkly quixotic work, saturated with fragility and painful longing,” and The Line Of Best Fit writing, “Woman’s Hour are the architects of the most intelligent new music we’ve heard this year.”

Listen to the single above or on our YouTube channel / Soundcloud page.

Get Her Ghost now digitally on iTunes, or pre-order the physical 7″ via Rough Trade and only in the UK.

Connect with Woman’s Hour on their website, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, and Soundcloud.

Click read more to see artwork for the single and upcoming tour dates for the band in UK and US dates in March including an appearance at SXSW.
Read the rest of this entry »

HAPPY RELEASE DAY // Suuns’ ‘Images Du Futur’ Out Now

RELEASE DAY! RELEASE DAY! Suuns’ Images Du Futur is officially available to the world. You can purchase the record online at SC Distribution, iTunes and Amazon! Have a hankering to go pick up the physical record today? Head to your local record store.

Experience Images Du Futur in a live setting! Suuns are on tour now until the end of May, so you have plenty of chances to see them! DATES HERE.

SUUNS – IMAGES DU FUTUR

“Images Du Futur is exciting in a way that few albums manage to be, dangerous and compelling like a first cigarette or fumbled sexual encounter, and nothing here quite seems real: these ten tracks exist in a half-light, a nocturnal fog a step removed from lucid thought. And a long, long way from anything routine.”The Line of Best Fit

“On an album that rarely shakes off its shroud of unease, Suuns paint a pretty bleak picture of all our tomorrows, but their own dazzling ‘…Futur’ looks assured.”NME

“So it is with great excitement that we receive their second LP offering, Images Du Futur, which builds on the ‘Bambi’/’Red Song’ energy and presents us with a refined image of what terrifying power Suuns are capable of.”KEXP

“Images du Futur is a heavy, slow rock album that will be jarring for those expecting big hooks, but it’s also rewarding for anyone willing to formulate their own interpretation.”Montreal Gazette

HAPPY RELEASE DAY! Exitmusic’s “Passage” Out Now!


Happy release day to Exitmusic! Passage is their debut release for Secretly Canadian and it’s now available online and in-stores. Grab your copy from SC Distribution or find your nearest record store. EM is busy wrapping up their tour – see final dates HERE. Don’t miss them at this year’s Hopscotch Fest!

Love for Passage

“Their debut album proper quivers and quakes with the cinematic electronics and emotional abandonment of a soundtrack to Armageddon. But for all its bleak, dark fissures, bright and tender lights serenely burst out with hope.” – NME

“Passage surges, subsides and enthralls like a gothic Sigur Ros. Church’s guitar gives good Sturm und Drang but it’s Palladino’s vocal that’s centre-stage; occassionally a brooding murmur but more often a husky force of nature that could give the vengeful sirens of Greek mythology a run for their money.” 4 Stars – Mojo

“It broods and rumbles, full of anger and anguish and loneliness, before erupting in a squall of tortured release. It’s mostly bleak and intensely emotional, but also beautiful…But even (or perhaps especially) in its bleakest moments, Passage is one the most memorable and absorbing records you’ll hear in 2012.” – NPR

AUDIO

Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness
All White Everything by JJ
Wedding Day by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon
Her Ghost by Woman's Hour
Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) by Major Lazer
Pulsing (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod
Red Eyes by The War On Drugs

VIDEOS

Sunspot by Suuns

Busy Baby (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod

Innocence by Electric Youth

COMING SOON

Electric Youth
Innerworld
CD / LP
Songs: Ohia
Didn't It Rain (Deluxe Edition)
2XCD / 2XLP

SHOWS TODAY

Cayucas
Chicago, IL - The Goose Island 312 Urban Block Party

Gardens & Villa
Las Vegas, NV - Bunkhouse Saloon

The War On Drugs
Madison, WI - Majestic  w/ Califone

See all upcoming shows