Filed Under:north american

G&V EP // Gardens & Villa Announce Free ‘Televisor’ EP, Listen To “Love Affair”, On Tour Now




Celebrating a successful string of summer shows and a new slew of fall tour dates starting tomorrow night, Gardens & Villa have released a new EP Televisor for free via their website www.gardensandvilla.com. Premiering via Stereogum this morning, preview the new EP with “Love Affair (Swift Demo)” above or on our Youtube / Soundcloud.

According to the band, Televisor is a collection of musical sketches, the majority of which were playfully brought into existence when they stopped by Richard Swift‘s National Freedom studio in February of 2012. During psychological experiments inspired by Carl Jung’s ‘Liber Novus’ they reflected on madness and greatness, searching for inspiration in redeeming symbols: smoke, mirrors and the late night hiss. Some danced in-between takes or barked like a train. The band later described their time with Swift as “a fun and frenzied recording, undertaken during professional hysterics.” The other pieces of Televisor were selected from the Dunes recordings with Tim Goldsworthy in 2013. Together these sessions represent some of the more hidden, shrouded sinews of a sonic structure, the unseen movements and psychedelic corridors of Gardens & Villa.

If you haven’t already, pick up their new album Dunes Dunes from iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution, or your local record store.


GV-Televisor_1-yellow

TELEVISOR EP TRACK LIST
1. Bullet Train (Swift Demo)
2. Love Affair (Swift Demo)
3. Minnesota (Swift Demo)
4. Sleepy Willow (Goldsworthy Demo)
5. Window Man (Goldsworthy Demo


UPCOMING TOUR DATES:

[Tickets: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Fri. Sept. 12 – San Luis Obispo, CA @ SLO Brewing Company
Sat. Sept. 13 – Sacramento, CA @ THIS Block Party
Thurs. Sept. 18 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
Fri. Sept. 19 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Constellation Room
Sat. Sept. 20 – Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon
Mon. Sept. 22 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Tues. Sept. 23 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Thurs. Sept. 25 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Fri. Sept. 26 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Sat. Sept. 27 – Cincinnati, OH @ MidPoint Music Festival
Sun. Sept. 28 – Champaign-Urbana, IL @ Pygmalion Music Festival
Tues. Sept. 30 – Nashville, TN @ High Watt
Wed. Oct. 1 – Asheville, NC @ The Mill Room
Thurs. Oct. 2 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Fri. Oct. 3 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle (Back Room)
Sat. Oct. 4 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Sun. Oct. 5 – Philadelpha, PA @ Johnny’s Brenda’s
Tues. Oct. 7 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Wed. Oct. 8 – Providence, RI @ Fete Lounge
Thurs. Oct. 9 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. Oct. 10 – Rochester, NY @ Lovin’ Cup
Sat. Oct. 11 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Sun. Oct. 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
Tues. Oct. 14 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Wed. Oct. 15 – Pontiac, MI @ The Pike Room at The Crofoot
Thurs. Oct. 16 – Indianapolis, IN @ Radio Radio
Fri. Oct. 17 – Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin: der Rathskeller
Sat. Oct. 18 – Ames, IA @ The Maintenance Shop
Sun. Oct. 19 – Kansas City, MO @ The recordBar
Tues. Oct. 21 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Wed. Oct. 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thurs. Nov. 6 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
Fri. Nov. 7 – San Antonio, TX @ 502 Bar
Sun. Nov. 9 – Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest
Thurs. Nov. 20 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
Fri. Nov. 21 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Sat. Nov. 22 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Sat. Dec. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex

ON TOUR // Porcelain Raft Announces North American Tour Dates In Support Of ‘Permanent Signal’ Out August 20th

Porcelain Raft announced their North American tour dates today. The tour is in support of the new album Permanent Signal out August 20th. Listen to the first single, “Think Of The Ocean”, above and then check out the tour dates below.

Read the rest of this entry »

HELLO SUMMER // Cayucas Announce North American Tour, Share “East Coast Girl” Audio & Spotify Playlist

Cayucas are doing summer the right way! They’re setting out on their first full North American tour, likely coming to a city near you. Don’t believe me? Better check the dates posted below.

What now? First, listen to Cayucas’s “East Coast Girl” above. Then head to NPR’s All Songs Considered to stream ANOTHER Cayucas track, “A Summer Thing.” Still not satisfied (you’re hard to please!!)? Check out Cayucas’s East Coast Girls Spotify playlist below, featuring songs from the band’s favorite East Coast girls.

 
TOUR DATES:
06/06/13 San Diego, CA- Casbah
06/07/13 Santa Ana, CA- Constellation Room
06/09/13 Santa Barbara, CA- Muddy Waters
06/12/13 San Luis Obispo, CA- SLO Brew
06/13/13 San Francisco, CA- Rickshaw Stop
06/15/13 Davis, CA- Sophia’s Thai Kitchen
06/17/13 Portland, OR- Mississippi Studios
06/18/13 Vancouver, BC- Biltmore Cabaret
06/19/13 Seattle, WA- Barboza
06/21/13 Salt Lake City, UT- Kilby Court
06/22/13 Denver, CO- Larimer Lounge
06/24/13 Kansas City, MO- Riot Room
06/25/13 Omaha, NE- Waiting Room
06/28/13 Minneapolis, MN- 7th Street Entry
06/29/13 Chicago, IL- Schubas
06/30/13 Detroit, MI- Magic Stick Lounge
07/01/13 Toronto, ON- The Drake
07/02/13 Montreal, QC- Il Motore
07/03/13 Boston, MA- Great Scott
07/05/13 New York, NY- Mercury Lounge
07/06/13 Montauk, NY- The Surf Lodge
07/07/13 Washington DC- DC9
07/09/13 Atlanta, GA- Masquerade
07/10/13 Birmingham, AL- Bottletree
07/11/13 New Orleans, LA- Circle Bar
07/12/13 Houston, TX- Mango’s
07/13/13 Austin, TX- Red 7
07/14/13 Dallas, TX- Three Links

Yeasayer Announce North American Tour, Tickets Available Now


Yeasayer is pleased to announce the North American leg of the “Fragrant World Tour.” Starting this July, Yeasayer has scheduled performances across the U.S. and Canada, including a special show at Rumsey Playfield as a part New York City’s SummerStage concert series. See the full list of tour dates after the jump! Tickets can be pre-ordered HERE.

The expanded summer tour comes on the heels of the announcement of the band’s new record, Fragrant World, out August 21. Produced by the band, Fragrant World is seething with sonics that construct eleven outstanding tracks that act together and also in a solo existence. The Brooklyn trio’s first single off the the album, “Henrietta,” is available for purchase on iTunes. Read the rest of this entry »

AUDIO

Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness
All White Everything by JJ
Wedding Day by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon
Her Ghost by Woman's Hour
Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) by Major Lazer
Pulsing (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod
Red Eyes by The War On Drugs

VIDEOS

Runaway by Electric Youth

Dynasti by JJ

Sunspot by Suuns

COMING SOON

Songs: Ohia
Didn't It Rain (Deluxe Edition)
2XCD / 2XLP

SHOWS TODAY

Steven A. Clark
Brooklyn, NY - The FADER FORT Presented By Converse @ CMJ

The War On Drugs
Stockholm, SE - Munchen Brewery

Tig Notaro
Pittsburgh, PA - Kelly Strayhorn Theater (Early)

Tig Notaro
Pittsburgh, PA - Kelly Strayhorn Theater (Late)

Woman's Hour
Brussels, BE - Botanique/Witloofbar

See all upcoming shows