Filed Under:scd

DIGITAL RELEASE // Songs: Ohia ‘Journey On: Collected Singles’ Digital Version Out Now


Today we are pleased to announce Songs: Ohia Journey On: Collected Singles, a deluxe box set of rare recordings from Jason Molina‘s Songs: Ohia, is now available in digital format online worldwide. Previously offered only in an exclusive box set in limited quantity to record stores for Record Store Day 2014, you can now purchase all the singles on iTunes or SC Distribution or stream it on Spotify / Rdio. Starting last week our Drip.FM subscribers get the singles delivered every Tuesday and Thursday for the next few weeks.

If you missed it in April, read what SC label co-founder Ben Swanson wrote about the original limited physical release and the collection as a whole. For more info on the box set and official track-listing, head here.

LISTEN // Anand Wilder And Maxwell Kardon Share “I’m To Blame”, New Album ‘Break Line The Musical’ Out July 14th Via Mute / 15th (US)




Premiering this morning on Consequence of Sound, Anand Wilder [Yeasayer] and Maxwell Kardon share the second track off new album Break Line The Musical, out July 15th in North America via Secretly Canadian / July 14th rest of world via Mute. Listen to the second track off the album “I’m To Blame” above or on our YouTube / Soundcloud.

Pre-order the new album via iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution, and from your local record store.

Break Line The Musical is a new album that harkens back to rock concept albums of the early 70′s with this following the classic arc of lost love, betrayal, and pride.

This record has been in the works since 2008 when Anand and Maxwell put together a band with Ira Wolf Tuton (Yeasayer) on bass and Christopher Powell (Man Man) on drums. Britt Myers (Charlift, Yeasayer, Passing Strange) then assisted with recording while they stayed up late experimenting with sounds and arrangements. Also included on the notable roster is Austin Fisher (Suckers), Haley Dekle (Dirty Projectors), James Richardson (MGMT), Chris Keating (Yeasayer), Ryan Kattner (Man Man), and Aku Orraca-Tetteh (Dragons of Zynth).

WATCH // Woman’s Hour Performs “Conversations” For VEVO DSCVR

Woman’s Hour stopped by the VEVO DSCVR studios for a special live take of “Conversations” you can watch above or here.

Their new album, Conversations, is out July 15th in the US And July 21st in Europe.

Just a few weeks left to pre-order via iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution / deluxe bundle, and your local record store.

Continue below to see live dates for the band including recently announced US dates in October and a string of festivals in Europe starting with Metropolis Festival in Rotterdam this weekend.


TOUR DATES:
[tickets: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Sun. July 6 – Rotterdam, NL @ Metropolis Festival
Sat. July 19 – Hertfordshire, UK @ Farr Festival
Sun. July 20 – Suffolk, UK @ Latitude Festival
Fri. July 25 – Topcliffe, UK @ Deer Shed Festival
Sun July 27 – Sheffield, UK @ Tramlines Festival
Sun. Aug. 3 – Kendal, UK @ Kendal Calling
Fri. Aug. 8 – Skipton, UK @ Beacons Festival
Sat. Aug. 16 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Fri. Aug. 29 – Bingley, UK @ Bingley Music Live
Thu. Sept. 4 – Isle of Wight, UK @ Bestival
Tue. Sept. 23 – London, UK @ Village Underground
Wed. Sept. 24 – Oxford, UK @ The Jericho Tavern
Thu. Sept. 25 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Fri. Sept. 26 – Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall
Sat. Sept. 27 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute
Wed. Oct. 1 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Thu. Oct. 2 – New York, NY @ The Mercury Lounge
Fri. Oct. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Sat. Oct. 4 – Oneonta, NY @ SUNY Oneonta – Fine Arts Building Room
Mon. Oct. 6 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel
Tue. Oct. 7 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Thu. Oct. 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Fri. Oct. 10 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop

Tue. Oct. 14 – Bristol, UK @ The Exchange
Wed. Oct. 15 – Nottingham, UK @ Stealth
Thu. Oct. 16 – Glasgow, UK @ Tuts
Fri. Oct. 17 – Liverpool, UK @ East Village Loft
Sat. Oct. 18 – Cardiff, UK @ Buffalo Bar
Tue. Oct. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotov Exil
Wed. Oct. 22 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine
Fri. Oct. 24 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Sat. Oct. 25 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique/Witloofbar
Tue. Oct. 28 – Oslo, NO @ Vanguard
Wed. Oct. 29 – Stockholm, SE @ Lilla Hotellbaren
Thu. Oct. 30 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar

ALBUM STREAM // Cayucas’s ‘BIGFOOT’ Available at Stereogum


Morning. Cayucas’s Bigfoot does not officially drop until next Tuesday, April 30, but you can get a jump on listening now. Stereogum just posted a stream of the entire album – link below.

LISTEN TO BIGFOOT AT STEREOGUM

Like what you hear? Better pre-order the album! Like vinyl? Us too! Like colored vinyl? That’s not even a real question. Bigfoot is available on translucent blue vinyl (and CD) at SC Distribution and any order comes with an immediate download of the entire album. You can also head to iTunes and Amazon for the record.

AUDIO

All White Everything by JJ
Wedding Day by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon
Her Ghost by Woman's Hour
Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) by Major Lazer
Pulsing (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod
Red Eyes by The War On Drugs
Silver Timothy by Damien Jurado

VIDEOS

Busy Baby (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod

Innocence by Electric Youth

Conversations by Woman's Hour

COMING SOON

JJ
V
CD / LP
Electric Youth
Innerworld
CD / LP

SHOWS TODAY

The War On Drugs
Happy Valley, OR - Pickathon

Zero Boys
Tubingen, DE - Munzgasse 13

See all upcoming shows