Filed Under:Spin

TOUR ANNOUNCE // The War On Drugs Announce Spring Tour, Festival Dates, Nominated For Brit Award

WOD Brit Ward

WHOO! 2014 was a huge year for The War On Drugs, and with their recent Brit Award nomination for Best International artist, 2015 is shaping up to be even bigger.

Following their powerhouse performance on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, The War On Drugs are announcing a spring tour hitting cities in which they have not yet played throughout the Southwest and Southeast in support of 2014′s #1 album of the year, Lost In The Dream, plus festivals, including Coachella, Bonnaroo and Governor’s Ball. This comes in the wake of their commanding presence atop countless 2014 year-end lists including SPIN, Amazon, iTunes, Uncut, Q, Under The Radar, Grantland, Philadelphia Inquirer, Consequence of Sound,Paste, The Times (UK), BBC Radio 6music and more.

Lost in the Dream is available now from your local record store, SC Distribution, Amazon, or on iTunes.


The War On Drugs Tour Dates

[All dates + tickets here: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
- – New dates in bold – -

Sat. Jan. 31 – Wed. Feb. 4 – Riviera Maya, MX @ Hard Rock Hotel
Mon. Feb. 16 – Liverpool, UK @ 02 Academy – SOLD OUT
Wed. Feb. 18 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Thu. Feb. 19 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall – SOLD OUT
Sat. Feb. 21 – Southampton, UK @ O2 Guildhall
Sun. Feb. 22 – Brighton, UK @ Dome Concert Hall – SOLD OUT
Tue. Feb. 24 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy – SOLD OUT
Wed. Feb. 25 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
Thu. Feb. 26 – Leeds, UK @ O2 Academy
Fri. Feb. 27 – Newcastle, UK @ O2 Academy
Sat. Feb. 28 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Mon. March 2 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy
Sat. Mar. 28 – Norfolk, VA @ The Norva
Sun. Mar. 29 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Tue. Mar. 31 – Knoxville, TN @ Bijou Theatre
Wed. April 1 – Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29
Thu. April 2 – Athens, GA @ Georgia Theatre
Fri. April 3 – Birmingham, AL @ Iron City
Sat. April 4 – Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall
Sun. April 5 – Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Tue. April 7 – Albuquerque, NM @ Historic El Rey Theatre
Wed. April 8 – El Paso, TX @ Tricky Falls
Thu. April 9 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Pressroom
Sat. April 11 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival
Sat. April 18 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival
Thu. May 21 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Sun. May 24 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre

Thu. June 25 – Sun. June 28 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Fri. June 5 – Sun. June 7 – New York, NY @ The Governors Ball Music Festival
Thu. June 11 – Sun. June 14 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo Music Festival

Fri. June 26 – St. Gallen, CH @ Open Air
Wed. July 1 – Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Thu. July 2 – Sun. July 5 – Barcelona, ES @ Vida Festival
Tue. Aug. 11 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Oslo, NO @ Oya
Thu. Aug. 13 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Fri. Sep. 4 – Sun. Sep. 6 – Laois, IE @ Electric Picnic

WATCH // Gardens & Villa Share “Bullet Train” Video Via Spin, New European Dates With Broken Bells In March, On Tour Now



If you missed it, Gardens & Villa‘s second album, Dunes came out last week. Today via Spin premiere we share the band’s new music video for the new album’s first single, “Bullet Train”. Directed by Tony Katai, watch the appropriately retro VHS-fuzzy and trippy video above or on our YouTube page.

On tour now supporting the new release, the boys have just announced additional shows including their first 2014 European dates supporting Broken Bells in London, Paris, Brussels, Berlin, and Amsterdam. Click read more below to see all tour dates and ticket links.

If you haven’t already, get the band’s new album Dunes from iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution, and your local record store.
Read the rest of this entry »

ALBUM ANNOUNCE // Luke Temple Readies Solo Album ‘Good Mood Fool’, Releases Stream of “Katie” via SPIN

You may know him as the frontman of Here We Go Magic, however, Luke Temple will be releasing a new solo album, Good Mood Fool, through Secretly Canadian this October! In this solo effort, Luke pairs down his instrumentation to just his voice, a drum machine, a bass guitar, and a Juno-1 synthesizer. SPIN premiered the album’s poppy second track, “Katie”, this morning and you can listen to it above or HERE on YouTube.

Peep the track list and album artwork below and then pre-order Good Mood Fool at Secretly Canadian Distribution, Amazon, iTunes and your local record store. If you want to see Luke play his new solo material live, check him out this Thursday, July 25th at the Knitting Factory in Brooklyn with TEEN and White Bike.

Read the rest of this entry »

VIDEO VIDEO // Cayucas Premiere “High School Lover” at SPIN, Announce Debut Album ‘BIGFOOT’ – Out April 30

Cayucas are coming at you with their awesome new video for “High School Lover,” starring lead singer Zach Yudin and his band: Ben Yudin on bass (twin brother to Zach), Banah Winn on keys and Casey Wojtalewicz on drums. Missing in the action is guitar player Christian Koons. Although the video isn’t a complete narrative, Director Cameron Dutra called on the song’s origin when putting it all together. He tells us “‘High School Lover’ is about a girl who would write Zach love letters, yet he would never respond despite actually liking her back. I tried to abstract the idea of a high school girl’s notebook with doodles and sketches into stop motion graphics and titles.” Watch above!

“High School Lover” is found on Cayucas’s debut album, Bigfoot – out officially on April 30! Check out the album artwork above and the tracklisting below! Bigfoot was produced by none other than Richard Swift (record at his studio too!).

 
Tracklisting for Bigfoot
1. Cayucos
2. High School Lover
3. Will “The Thrill”
4. A Summer Thing
5. East Coast Girl
6. Deep Sea
7. Ayawa ‘kya
8. Bigfoot

Gardens & Villa Remix Polica’s “The Maker,” Set to Tour this Fall

Two fantastic bands are pairing up for a fall tour and they just happen to be Gardens and Villa and Mom + Pop’s latest signee, Polica. To celebrate, Gardens and Villa have taken on Polica’s “The Maker,” offering a splendid, dance-worthy remix. It’s impossible to listen to this track and not dream up thoughts of how great this tour is going to be. You’ll be moving from start to finish. Stream “The Maker” below!

In addition to dates with Polica, Gardens & Villa make stops at Musicfest NW, KBZT’s Independence Jam (where they’ll share the bill with Fiona Apple), Counterpoint Festival in Atlanta and Austin City Limits in October. See full list of dates at end of post! Read the rest of this entry »

AUDIO

Gazelles In Flight by Suuns
Blue Chicago Moon by Songs: Ohia
Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness
All White Everything by JJ
Wedding Day by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon
Her Ghost by Woman's Hour
Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) by Major Lazer

VIDEOS

You Are Dead To Me by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness

Runaway by Electric Youth

Dynasti by JJ

Sunspot by Suuns

COMING SOON

Suuns
And Jerusalem in My Heart
CD / LP

SHOWS TODAY

The War On Drugs
Cancun, MX - Hard Rock Riviera Maya Mexico

See all upcoming shows