Filed Under:summer

LISTEN // Woman’s Hour Shares “Conversations” Remix By Fort Romeau [Ghostly], New Album Out July 21st (15th US)

Woman’s Hour is gearing up for summer with a little help from London producer Fort Romeau. The Ghostly artist takes the title track off their upcoming Conversations album and transforms it into a summery synth-driven, groovy jam. Listen to the remix via XLR8R premiere above, or here on our Soundcloud.

Pre-order Conversations via iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution / deluxe bundle, and your local record store.

Click read more to see live dates for the band including newly announced US dates in October and see an intimate stripped down version of “Our Love Has No Rhymthm”.


TOUR DATES:
[tickets: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Sat. June 21- Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Sun. July 6 – Rotterdam, NL @ Metropolis Festival
Sat. July 19 – Hertfordshire, UK @ Farr Festival
Sun. July 20 – Suffolk, UK @ Latitude Festival
Fri. July 25 – Topcliffe, UK @ Deer Shed Festival
Sun July 27 – Sheffield, UK @ Tramlines Festival
Sun. Aug. 3 – Kendal, UK @ Kendal Calling
Fri. Aug. 8 – Skipton, UK @ Beacons Festival
Sat. Aug. 16 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Fri. Aug. 29 – Bingley, UK @ Bingley Music Live
Thu. Sept. 4 – Isle of Wight, UK @ Bestival
Tue. Sept. 23 – London, UK @ Village Underground
Wed. Sept. 24 – Oxford, UK @ The Jericho Tavern
Thu. Sept. 25 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Fri. Sept. 26 – Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall
Sat. Sept. 27 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute
Wed. Oct. 1 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Thu. Oct. 2 – New York, NY @ The Mercury Lounge
Fri. Oct. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Sat. Oct. 4 – Oneonta, NY @ SUNY Oneonta – Fine Arts Building Room
Mon. Oct. 6 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel
Tue. Oct. 7 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Thu. Oct. 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Fri. Oct. 10 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop

Tue. Oct. 14 – Bristol, UK @ The Exchange
Wed. Oct. 15 – Nottingham, UK @ Stealth
Thu. Oct. 16 – Glasgow, UK @ Tuts
Fri. Oct. 17 – Liverpool, UK @ East Village Loft
Sat. Oct. 18 – Cardiff, UK @ Buffalo Bar
Tue. Oct. 21 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotov Exil
Wed. Oct. 22 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Kantine
Fri. Oct. 24 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Sat. Oct. 25 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique/Witloofbar
Tue. Oct. 28 – Oslo, NO @ Vanguard
Wed. Oct. 29 – Stockholm, SE @ Lilla Hotellbaren
Thu. Oct. 30 – Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar

NEW TRACK // JJ Releases Free Download Of New Track “Fagelsangen”

If you missed it last week JJ provided a midsummer’s treat in the form of a free download of a new track, “Fagelsangen”. We like to think it wouldn’t be Summer without a new JJ track.

Click here to download “Fagelsangen”, the first track off their new album V out later this year on Secretly Canadian.

ON TOUR // Suuns Summer 2013 Tour Dates / KEXP SXSW Live Session

We love this video of KEXP‘s session with Suuns at Mellow Johnny’s Bike Shop during SXSW ’13. We are even more excited about The Suuns upcoming tour dates this summer starting in Brooklyn at Glasslands Gallery. From Brooklyn they head to Canada then Europe through August before returning to the US for a few more dates in September. To see if they are playing a city near you check the list below!

Read the rest of this entry »

Sunlight In Song Form // Cayucas Perform Pool-Side

If Cayucas came in egg form, they’d be sunny side up. Too much? Let’s get back on track. The band sat pool-side at Palm Springs’ Ace Hotel late one morning for a performance of “High School Lover.” It’s all for KCRW / NPR’s Field Recording sessions. The end result is perfect and only further proves Cayucas’s recently released Bigfoot is THE album for summer 2013. Watch above.

Cayucas kick off their tour next week at the Food For Your Senses Festival. They’ll play a few additional shows in Europe, and then it is off to the States for their first headlining tour. Dates and links HERE.

Pre-Order // Cayucas’s – ‘BIGFOOT,’ Dungeonesse Remix “Cayucos”

With a much anticipated (and needed) summer nearing, Cayucas’s album could not be available for pre-order at a better time. For starters, when you pre-order Bigfoot at SC Distribution you’ll be able to download the entire album immediately; this means you have at least a solid month to memorize all the lyrics in preparation for summer drives and swims soundtracked by Cayucas. Your ordering options include the album vinyl or CD formats; plus a deluxe bundle (shown above) featuring the album on both LP (first 100 orders get translucent blue vinyl) & CD, a Cayucas beach ball and 17 x 22″ glossy poster featuring Bigfoot album art.

We’re keeping it all in the family. Cayucas’s “Cayucos” was recently remixed by labelmates Dungeonesse and it’s, well, perfect. You can check out the reworked track below or at YVYNYL where it premiered this morning!

 
FINALLY – do not forget to check out Cayucas at SXSW next week. You’ll find their complete schedule and other tour dates HERE.

AUDIO

Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness
All White Everything by JJ
Wedding Day by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon
Her Ghost by Woman's Hour
Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) by Major Lazer
Pulsing (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod
Red Eyes by The War On Drugs

VIDEOS

Runaway by Electric Youth

Dynasti by JJ

Sunspot by Suuns

COMING SOON

Songs: Ohia
Didn't It Rain (Deluxe Edition)
2XCD / 2XLP

SHOWS TODAY

The War On Drugs
Arhus, DK - Voxhall

Tig Notaro
Pontiac, MI - Crofoot Ballroom

See all upcoming shows