Filed Under:The War On Drugs

ALBUM MILESTONE // The War On Drugs ‘Lost In The Dream’ Reaches GOLD Status In UK

Following a whirlwind year which culminated in countless Best album of 2014 accolades and a subsequent Brit Award nomination, this weekend has seen another milestone reached for The War On Drugs. The band’s classic album Lost in the Dream’s released on Secretly Canadian in March last year, has now reached GOLD status in the UK following sales of over 100,000 copies.

Lost in the Dream is available now from your local record store, SC Distribution, Amazon, or on iTunes.


The War On Drugs Tour Dates

[All dates + tickets here: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Fri. July 31 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza
Tue. Aug. 11 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Oslo, NO @ Oya
Thu. Aug. 13 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Fri. Aug. 14 – Sun. Aug 16 – Helsinki, FI @ Flow Festival
Sat. Aug. 15 – Rees-Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival 2015
Mon. Aug. 17 – Prague, CZ @ Lucerna Music Bar
Tue. Aug. 18 – Vienna, AU @ Arena
Fri. Aug. 21 – Tabuao, PT @ Paredes de Coura
Sat. Aug. 22 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Fri. Sep. 4 – Sat. Sep. 5 – Laois, IE @ Electric Picnic
Sun. Sep. 6 – Wiltshire, UK @ End Of The Road Festival
Fri. Oct. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre


“One of 2014’s truly great records The perfect Americana road trip.”
NME 9/10

A sublime journey Its no small feat to make rock music sound this fresh nowadays. Amid the hordes of bands pulling the same old tired moves, thank God for The War On Drugs’
Time Out 5 Stars *****

A huge triumph Widescreen, exhilarating, Springsteen-esque rock n roll Its clear that this is the bands breakthrough moment.
Evening Standard 5 Stars *****

A magnificent musical voyage An early contender for the upper reaches of those end-of-year lists.
The Sun – 5 Stars *****

Granduciel is a master of slowly shifting textures Imagine Bob Dylan singing Tom Petty songs, backed by a combination of Avalon-era Roxy Music and the E Street Band.
Sunday Times (Album of the Week)

Gorgeous, fully realised third from Adam Granduciels ambient rockers.
Uncut 8/10

Everything is delivered with a wondrous sadness… Its a record for dusk, for dawn, and for all the dark corners in which you might find yourself in between.
Q Magazine – 4 Stars ****

Right to the final note Lost In The Dream is a triumph of emotive feel and detail.
MOJO – 4 Stars ****

Adam Granduciel combines 80s-style rock with 70s kosmische music. Imagine Neu! covering Dancing In The Dark.
The Guardian 4 Stars ****

Combines the narrative style of 70s Dylan with the sonic clarity of 80s pop-rock and the narcotic haze of psychedelia An album that gets deeper on each listen.
The Times 4 Stars ****

Adam Granduciels Philly road fetishists drew cult acclaim before, but their hybrid of US road-rock, Krautrock and drone textures is more confident in range and purpose here.
Independent On Sunday 4 Stars ****

Lost In The Dream maintains a kind of motorik languor throughout, turning 80s arena rock into something much more intriguing
The Observer 4 Stars ****

Its unified vision should appeal to fans of My Bloody Valentine and Neil Young alike.
The Independent 4 Stars ****

“Fuses the open American landscape of 1970s rock with the metronomic pulse of krautrock.”
Financial Times 4 Stars ****

Richly melodic and possessing a classicist pop sensibility, this is rock music with soul.
Clash 8/10

Imagine Bob Dylan making records with My Bloody Valentine in New Mexico designed for the end credits of a road movie.
Guitarist 4 Stars ****

Classic rock through a krautrock lens.
D.I.Y. 4 Stars ****

Lost In The Dream embodies a big-hearted Americana.
Loud And Quiet 8/10

Beautiful Lost In The Dream offers myriad reasons to bask in its beatific atmosphere.
The Fly 4 Stars ****

WATCH // The War On Drugs Make Daytime Television Debut On The Ellen Degeneres Show, Announce Performance At The Greek Theatre In LA Oct. 16

2015 is shaping up to be The Year On Drugs. Add The Ellen Degeneres Show to a long list of killer performances for the crew from Philadelphia. Yesterday, The War On Drugs made their daytime television debut with a fiery showing of Lost In the Dream’s ‘Red Eyes’, and per Ellen’s personal request, ‘Under The Pressure’ for a web exclusive. Watch it here.

Currently in the midst of a three week tour across North America, this summer is shaping up to be a busy one for the band. In addition to their many festival performances including Sasquatch, Governors Ball, Bonnaroo, Field Trip, Forecastle, and Lollapalooza, The War On Drugs have announced a special performance at The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles On Friday, Oct. 16. Tickets go on sale this Friday, April 24th at 10am PT here. Full ticket dates and links below.

Lost in the Dream is available now from your local record store, SC Distribution, Amazon, or on iTunes.


The War On Drugs Tour Dates

[All dates + tickets here: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Thu. May 21 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Sat. May 23 – George, WA @ Sasquatch
Sun. May 24 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre – SOLD OUT
Sat. June 6 – Toronto, ON @ Field Trip Music Festival
Sun. June 7 – New York, NY @ The Governors Ball Music Festival
Mon. June 8 – Rochester, NY @ Water Street Music Hall
Tue. June 9 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
Wed. June 10 – Covington, KY @ The Madison Theater
Thu. June 11 – Sun. June 14 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo
Fri. June 12 – Indianapolis, IN @ Vogue
Mon. June 15 – Tampa, FL @ The Ritz
Tue. June 16 – Miami Beach, FL @ The Fillmore at Jackie Gleason
Wed. June 17 – Orlando, FL @ The Beacham Theatre
Thu. June 18 – Charlotte, NC @ Amos
Sat. June 20 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club – SOLD OUT
Sat. June 21 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
Thu. June 25 – Sun. June 28 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Fri. June 26 – St. Gallen, CH @ Open Air
Sun. June 28 – De Groene Heuvels, NL @ Down The Rabbit Hole
Mon. June 29 – Koln, DE @ Live Music Hall
Wed. July 1 – Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Thu. July 2 – Sun. July 5 – Barcelona, ES @ Vida Festival
Sun. July 5 – Montreux, CH @ Montreux Jazz Festival
Mon. July 6 – Paris, FR @ Days Off Festival
Tue. July 7 – Luxembourg City, LU @ den Atelier
Thu. July 9 – Sheffield, UK @ 02 Academy
Fri. July 10 – Perthshire, Scotland, UK @ T in the Park
Fri. July 16 – Pemberton, BC @ Pemberton Music Festival
Sat. July 18 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Music Festival
Fri. July 31 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza
Tue. Aug. 11 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Oslo, NO @ Oya
Thu. Aug. 13 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Fri. Aug. 14 – Sun. Aug 16 – Helsinki, FI @ Flow Festival
Sat. Aug. 15 – Rees-Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival 2015
Mon. Aug. 17 – Prague, CZ @ Lucerna Music Bar
Tue. Aug. 18 – Vienna, AU @ Arena
Fri. Aug. 21 – Tabuao, PT @ Paredes de Coura
Sat. Aug. 22 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Fri. Sep. 4 – Sat. Sep. 5 – Laois, IE @ Electric Picnic
Sun. Sep. 6 – Wiltshire, UK @ End Of The Road Festival
Fri. Oct. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre

TOUR ANNOUNCE // The War On Drugs Announce Spring Tour, Festival Dates, Nominated For Brit Award

WOD Brit Ward

WHOO! 2014 was a huge year for The War On Drugs, and with their recent Brit Award nomination for Best International artist, 2015 is shaping up to be even bigger.

Following their powerhouse performance on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, The War On Drugs are announcing a spring tour hitting cities in which they have not yet played throughout the Southwest and Southeast in support of 2014’s #1 album of the year, Lost In The Dream, plus festivals, including Coachella, Bonnaroo and Governor’s Ball. This comes in the wake of their commanding presence atop countless 2014 year-end lists including SPIN, Amazon, iTunes, Uncut, Q, Under The Radar, Grantland, Philadelphia Inquirer, Consequence of Sound,Paste, The Times (UK), BBC Radio 6music and more.

Lost in the Dream is available now from your local record store, SC Distribution, Amazon, or on iTunes.


The War On Drugs Tour Dates

[All dates + tickets here: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
– – New dates in bold – –

Sat. Jan. 31 – Wed. Feb. 4 – Riviera Maya, MX @ Hard Rock Hotel
Mon. Feb. 16 – Liverpool, UK @ 02 Academy – SOLD OUT
Wed. Feb. 18 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Thu. Feb. 19 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall – SOLD OUT
Sat. Feb. 21 – Southampton, UK @ O2 Guildhall
Sun. Feb. 22 – Brighton, UK @ Dome Concert Hall – SOLD OUT
Tue. Feb. 24 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy – SOLD OUT
Wed. Feb. 25 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
Thu. Feb. 26 – Leeds, UK @ O2 Academy
Fri. Feb. 27 – Newcastle, UK @ O2 Academy
Sat. Feb. 28 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Mon. March 2 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy
Sat. Mar. 28 – Norfolk, VA @ The Norva
Sun. Mar. 29 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Tue. Mar. 31 – Knoxville, TN @ Bijou Theatre
Wed. April 1 – Chattanooga, TN @ Track 29
Thu. April 2 – Athens, GA @ Georgia Theatre
Fri. April 3 – Birmingham, AL @ Iron City
Sat. April 4 – Memphis, TN @ Minglewood Hall
Sun. April 5 – Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Tue. April 7 – Albuquerque, NM @ Historic El Rey Theatre
Wed. April 8 – El Paso, TX @ Tricky Falls
Thu. April 9 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Pressroom
Sat. April 11 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival
Sat. April 18 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival
Thu. May 21 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Sun. May 24 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre

Thu. June 25 – Sun. June 28 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Fri. June 5 – Sun. June 7 – New York, NY @ The Governors Ball Music Festival
Thu. June 11 – Sun. June 14 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo Music Festival

Fri. June 26 – St. Gallen, CH @ Open Air
Wed. July 1 – Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Thu. July 2 – Sun. July 5 – Barcelona, ES @ Vida Festival
Tue. Aug. 11 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Oslo, NO @ Oya
Thu. Aug. 13 – Sat. Aug. 15 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Fri. Sep. 4 – Sun. Sep. 6 – Laois, IE @ Electric Picnic

LATE NIGHT // The War On Drugs Perform “An Ocean in Between the Waves” On The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

The War On Drugs started off 2015 performing “An Ocean in Between the Waves” on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon last night. Watch the performance above or here on the show’s site.

Lost in the Dream is available now from your local record store, SC Distribution, Amazon, or on iTunes.

The band continues their tour . See the rest of the dates below.


The War On Drugs Tour Dates

All dates + tickets here: secretlycanadian.com/tour

Sat. Jan. 31 – Wed. Feb. 4 – Riviera Maya, MX @ Hard Rock Hotel
Mon. Feb. 16 – Liverpool, UK @ 02 Academy – SOLD OUT
Wed. Feb. 18 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Thu. Feb. 19 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall – SOLD OUT
Sat. Feb. 21 – Southampton, UK @ O2 Guildhall
Sun. Feb. 22 – Brighton, UK @ Dome Concert Hall – SOLD OUT
Tue. Feb. 24 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy – SOLD OUT
Wed. Feb. 25 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
Thu. Feb. 26 – Leeds, UK @ O2 Academy
Fri. Feb. 27 – Newcastle, UK @ O2 Academy
Sat. Feb. 28 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Mon. March 2 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy
Thu. June 25 – Sun. June 28 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Fri. June 26 – St. Gallen, CH @ Open Air
Wed. July 1 – Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Thu. July 2 – Sun. July 5 – Barcelona, ES

LATE NIGHT // The War On Drugs Play Burning On CONAN, On Tour Now



The War On Drugs continue to sell out shows across the world and they went on CONAN last night to give everyone a taste of their live shows. Watch the band play “Burning” off this year’s critically acclaimed album, Lost In The Dream, above or here at TeamCoco.com.

If you missed it over the summer, see TWOD perform “Red Eyes” on Letterman. Also, check out the official video for “Under The Pressure”. Read more below to see upcoming tour dates for the band.

Lost In the Dream is available now from your local record store, SC Distribution, Amazon, or on iTunes.

Read the rest of this entry »

AUDIO

Falling by Here We Go Magic
Ordinary Feeling by Here We Go Magic
Fixations by Gardens & Villa
Everybody by Gardens & Villa
Not You by Steven A. Clark
Moony Eyed Walrus by Cayucas
Gazelles In Flight by Suuns
Blue Chicago Moon by Songs: Ohia
Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness

VIDEOS

Everybody by Gardens & Villa

Can't Have by Steven A. Clark

Falling by Here We Go Magic

Fixations by Gardens & Villa

COMING SOON

Steven A. Clark
The Lonely Roller
CD / LP
Here We Go Magic
Be Small
CD / LP

SHOWS TODAY

Here We Go Magic
Glasgow, UK - King Tuts

See all upcoming shows