The Secretly Canadian Newsletter

Cherry Glazerr’s Clementine Creevy has shared a new song today from her forthcoming new album, I Don’t Want You Anymore, out September 29th. Movies have always played a role in Creevy’s songwriting, and many of the songs on the new album can be described visually. With today’s release of  “Sugar,” Creevy pictured playing it in a dark, seedy club, her deadpan vocal delivery mirroring the grim atmosphere. “That song tickles the part of my brain that loves driving really late at night,” she says. These are songs to soundtrack the listener’s life, a score to suit any occasion.

Says Creevy, “‘Sugar’ is one of my favorite songs on the album. I actually started it with Jonny Pierce from The Drums and he had that sick bassline. We then built everything around it, and he had this idea to do a big ‘I’M YOUR SUGAAAR’ towards the end of the song which gives it this fun kinda dancy lift.” The song is accompanied by a video which Creevy explains, “I always imagined a nighttime gritty kind of visual for this song, so Sami (Perez, bassist) and I shot the video with our genius friend Gabe Ross, and he got Emily (Whittemore) to strip for it and Chad ( Damiani)  to do his beautiful dancing— ultimately we created this funny kind of bizzaro nighttime video, which I think fits the song perfectly. It’s about feeling used by someone else and you know it’s wrong, but you feel like you can be their little bit of sweetness and that feels kinda good in a twisted way.”

“Sugar” follows the previously released “Soft Like A Flower,” which Uproxx called “some of their best stuff yet,” as well as the grunge heavy and introspective “Ready For You,” a NY Times playlist selection.



Other Recent News


Loren Kramar Signs to Secretly Canadian & Unveils New Single, “Hollywood Blvd”

New single & video, "Hollywood Blvd" out now


serpentwithfeet Announces New Album ‘GRIP’ Alongside New Single & Video, “Damn Gloves”

New single "Damn Gloves" out now


Introducing Secretly Canadian’s Newest Signing, gglum

New single and video, "SPLAT!" out now


ANOHNI and the Johnsons Present New Video For “Scapegoat”

New video for "Scapegoat" out now