Suuns recently announced their new album, Felt, with the first single, “Watch You, Watch Me,” NPR Music described it as a “joyous…build of brutalism and emotion.” Following “Watch You, Watch Me” is “Make It Real.”

“Here, we’re all playing in ways that are counter-intuitive for us as a band, organic drums, major keys, but as long as it works, we’ll take it,” says drummer Liam O’Neill. “It used to have a chorus too, but we thought it would be more interesting to have this song be almost entirely linear – an asymmetrical progression that grows upwards and then repeats. The infinity feeling.”

Pre-order Felt

Accompanying today’s release of “Make It Real” is a Sabrina Ratt-directed video premiered by The FADER. “When I first listened to ‘Make it Real,’ I immediately visualized pop and colorful imageries,” says Ratt. “I revisited Superstudio and Archigram’s utopian architecture, which became my main inspiration for this video. This project was also the opportunity to experiment further with some of my personal techniques where I map photographs (or in this case video of the band) onto 3D structures. I’ve worked with Suuns on a previous music video about five years ago, and did many visuals for them in live settings.”

Felt is both a continuation and rebirth, the Montreal quartet returning to beloved local facility Breakglass Studios (where they cut their first two albums [Zeroes QC and Images Du Futur] with Jace Lasek of The Besnard Lakes) but this time recording themselves at their own pace, over five fertile sessions spanning several months. A simultaneous stretching out and honing in, mixed to audiophile perfection by St Vincent producer John Congleton (helmer of 2016’s Hold/Still), who flew up especially from Dallas to deploy his award-winning skills in situ.

Following the release of Felt, Suuns will perform in the U.S. for the first time in 2018 at Big Ears before heading to Europe in the spring. After Europe, Suuns kick off their newly announced North American run at Levitation in Austin. They’ll conclude their first Felt tour with a string of shows in the Northeast and Midwest. Beginning in late May (including their Northeastern tour dates from May 22-June 1), Suuns will partner with PLUS1 so that $1 from every ticket sold goes to support Youth Speaks and their work through arts education, youth development, and civic engagement, to challenge young people to find, develop, publicly present, and apply their voices as creators of societal change.

Suuns Tour Dates:
Fri. Feb. 9 St-Casimir, Canada @ La Taverne
Sat. Feb. 10 Sherbrooke, QC @ La Petite Boite Noire
Fri. Feb. 16 Trois-Rivieres, Canada @ Le Zenob
Sat. Feb. 17 Gatineau, Canada @ Le Minotaure
Wed. Mar. 7 St-Hyacinthe, Canada @ Le Zaricot
Fri. Mar. 9 Montreal, QC @ Le National
Sat. Mar. 10 Quebec City, QC @ La Source de la Martiniere
Thu. Mar. 15 Toronto, ON @ Great Hall
Sun. Mar. 25 Knoxville, Tennessee @ Big Ears Festival
Thu. Mar. 29 Rome, Italy @ Monk Club
Fri. Mar. 30 Milan, Italy @ Magnolia
Sat. Mar. 31 Winterthur, Switzerland @ Salzhaus
Sun. Apr. 1 Marseille, France @ Espace Julien
Tue. Apr. 3 Saint-Malo, France @ Nouvelle Vague
Wed. Apr. 4 Paris, France @ Elysee Montmarte
Thu. Apr. 5 London, United Kingdom @ Scala
Fri. Apr. 6 Brussels, Belgium @ Le Botanique
Sat. Apr. 7 The Hague, Netherlands @ Rewire Festival
Sun. Apr. 8 Koln, Germany @ Gebaude 9
Mon. Apr. 9 Hamburg, Germany @ Molotow Musikclub
Tue. Apr. 10 Berlin, Germany @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Wed. Apr. 11 Istanbul, Turkey @ Babylon
Fri. Apr. 27 Austin, TX @ Empire Control Room (Levitation)
Tue. May 22 Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Wed. May 23 Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere
Thu. May 24 Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Fri. May 25 Philadelphia, PA @ The Boot & Saddle
Sat. May 26 Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Caf
Sun. May 27 Lakewood, OH @ The Foundry
Tue. May 29 Detroit, MI @ El Club
Wed. May 30 Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Thu. May 31 Indianapolis, IN @ The Hi-Fi
Fri. June 1 Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar

Music

Other Recent News

12/07/2018

Richard Swift’s ‘The Hex’ Is Out on CD/LP Today

Today sees the physical release of Richard Swift's masterpiece, 'The Hex.'

12/05/2018

Stella Donnelly Announces 2019 World Tour

On the heels of Donnelly’s fall North American solo run supporting Natalie Prass, she announces her return to the states for a full band headline tour in 2019. Label mate, Faye Webster, will open. Next year will also see the release of Donnelly’s debut full-length album on Secretly Canadian (details still to come).

11/16/2018

serpentwithfeet shares ‘soil reprise’

It has been a banner year for serpentwithfeet. 'soil,' his debut album on Secretly Canadian and Tri Angle Records, received rave reviews and is sure to take out prominent spots on many year-end lists. To cap off an excellent 2018, serpentwithfeet shares 'soil reprise' featuring acoustic versions of “bless ur heart” and “messy.”

11/15/2018

Faye Webster Signs to SC + Shares “Kingston”

Secretly Canadian is proud to present new signing Faye Webster and share the self-directed video for her new single “Kingston”. The 21-year-old songwriter’s forthright, exposed lyricism pays homage to the great Americana traditions of songwriting while drawing from Webster’s own experiences immersed in Atlanta’s hip-hop scene.

Videos