Alex Cameron will release his third album, Miami Memory, on September 13th via Secretly Canadian, and tour Europe and North America immediately following. Tickets for newly-announced dates are on sale this Friday at 10am local time. In conjunction with today’s announcement, Cameron now presents “Divorce” with an accompanying video. As with 2017’s Forced Witness, Cameron’s flair for narrative and character are on full display, yet for the first time, Miami Memory’s most frequent narrator is himself. Miami Memory is Cameron’s love letter to his partner; a vulnerable, tender, and at times lustful, dedication to the one he loves.

Pre-order Miami Memory

Across the album, Cameron sings with stunning candor of his relationship and transition into familial life. Miami Memory is Cameron’s tribute to his romantic union; a common, elemental concept revisited by Cameron with his brand of veracious wittiness and sincerity. Miami Memory ultimately twists and subverts the genre of classic rock: it recalls classics the white male ego has historically visited, largely turning its lens away from the men this time, lending itself, rather, to the voices and influence of the powerful women in Cameron’s life.

In his depiction of his relationship, Cameron reveals a striking honesty about love and sex in a time where a fleetingness hangs over everything. “When you listen to these songs, and you’re waiting for the twist, or the joke, or any kind of discomfort, I can assure you none of those things were there when I wrote them,” says Cameron. “These are true stories, of actual events. Specific but never esoteric. And graphic but never offensive. Miami Memory is the story of a couple balancing sex with contemporary family values…It’s my gift to my girlfriend, a symbol to hoist on the totem of love.”

“Divorce” follows first single “Miami Memory,” a track that encapsulates the album’s unapologetic vision of long-term commitment and love. “Divorce” draws on the empty threats of disappearance lovers explosively make to one another. Cameron consistently resists the obvious by juxtaposing his explorations of intimate tensions against cheery instrumentation. The chorus of “divorce, divorce” almost sounds like an exclamation despite the misery it portends.

Miami Memory is Cameron’s most musically expansive LP. Though remnants of his synth-driven earlier work sneak in, the bulk of it revels in the emotional drive of classic rock. Produced by Jonathan Rado (Weyes Blood, Father John Misty), recorded and mixed by Marta Salogni (Björk, Kelela), and featuring Cameron’s longtime business partner Roy Molloy, the album is warm and anthemic, driven by Molloy’s sax, bass, guitar, and layers of organ.

No longer playing the roles of, say, an obsolete TV personality or a late-career-Brando-revering homophobe or any number of men groping for affection in the abysses of their own making, this new narrator we can safely call Alex Cameron is deep in (requited) love.

Alex Cameron Tour Dates:
Wed. Sept. 18 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. Sept. 19 – Brussels, BE @ AB Club
Fri. Sept. 20 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Sat. Sept. 21 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sun. Sept. 22 – Dublin, IE @ Button Factory
Tue. Sept. 24 – Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Wed. Sept. 25 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Thu. Sept. 26 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Fri. Sept. 27 – Glasgow, UK @ Art School
Sun. Sept. 29 – Southampton, UK @ Loft
Tue. Oct. 1 – Lille, FR @ Aeronef Club
Wed. Oct. 2 – Paris, FR @ Trianon
Thu. Oct. 3 – Reims, FR @ La Cartonnerie
Fri. Oct. 4 – Nantes, FR @ Lieu Unique
Sat. Oct. 5 – Orléans, FR @ Astrolabe
Mon. Oct. 7 – Zurich, CH @ Mascotte
Tue. Oct. 8 – Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Wed. Oct. 9 – Milan, IT @ Ohibo
Thu. Oct. 10 – Bologna, IT @ Covo
Sat. Oct. 12 – Salzburg, AT @ Rockhouse Birthday Party
Sun. Oct. 13 – Vienna, AT @ Flex Cafe
Mon. Oct. 14 – Munich, DE @ Strom
Tue. Oct. 15 – Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Wed. Oct. 16 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Fri. Oct. 18 – Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern
Sat. Oct. 19 – Oslo, NO @ Parkteatret
Sun. Oct. 20 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Mon. Oct. 21 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Tue. Oct. 22 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Wed. Oct. 23 – Cologne, DE @ Artheater
Fri. Nov. 1 – Richmond, VA @ Richmond Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 2 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
Tue. Nov. 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5
Wed. Nov. 6 – Nashville, TN @ Exit In
Thu. Nov. 7 – St. Louis, MO @ Ready Room
Fri. Nov. 8 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sat. Nov. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line
Tue. Nov. 12 – Bloomington, IN @ Bishop Bar
Wed. Nov. 13 – Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Thu. Nov. 14 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Fri. Nov. 15 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Sat. Nov. 16 – Montreal, QC @ Fairmount
Wed. Nov. 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. Nov. 21 – Boston, MA @ Sinclair
Fri. Nov. 22 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat. Nov. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri. Dec. 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sat. Dec. 7 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Sun. Dec. 9 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Mon. Dec. 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Wed. Dec. 12 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Thu. Dec. 13 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Fri. Dec. 14 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre

Music

Other Recent News

11/05/2019

Stella Donnelly Shares Video for “Season’s Greetings”

Stella Donnelly is delighted to share the video for ‘Season's Greetings, taken from her critically acclaimed debut album Beware of the Dogs, released earlier this year.

11/04/2019

Shura Releases ‘Live at Metropolis Studios’

Shura has today released two new live recordings, ‘Live at Metropolis Studios’. The sessions were recorded live to vinyl with stripped-back versions of "religion (u can lay your hands on me)" and "forever." Limited edition physical of ‘Live at Metropolis Studios’ will be available on Shura’s European tour, which begins this week.

10/10/2019

Cherry Glazerr Shares Video for “Call Me (feat. Portugal. The Man)”

Cherry Glazerr today release their video for “Call Me,” their new single featuring Grammy award-winning Pop/Rock Group Portugal. The Man.

09/26/2019

Watch Cherry Glazerr Perform on The Late Late Show with James Corden

Cherry Glazerr - the Los Angeles based trio led by front-woman Clementine Creevy, made their late night TV debut on CBS’ The Late Late Show with James Corden last night. Joined by Reggie Watts, the band performed his remix of “Daddi,” the first single from Stuffed & Ready, released earlier this year.

Videos