The Secretly Canadian Newsletter

Today, Alex Cameron presents a new single/video, “K Hole,” from his forthcoming album, Oxy Music, out March 11th on Secretly Canadian. In conjunction, Cameron announces the return of his much adored Alcamathon, to be livestreamed on release day via Vans Channel 66 from 5pm-7pm. This year’s Alcamathon will feature the first live, full band performance in support of Oxy Music. Following previous singles “Sara Jo” and “Best Life,” “K Hole” is a woozy glimpse into Oxy Music, with Cameron’s acerbic expertise on full display. “Tryna prove to you that I’m stable // I promise when I fall I’ll be graceful,” Cameron croons atop sleek instrumentation, “Only room for one // Yeah there’s only room for one in a K Hole.” Directed by Jim Larson, the “K Hole” video sees Cameron receiving an infusion therapy treatment from business partner and saxophonist Roy Molloy and longtime bandmate, guitarist/bassist Justin Nijssen before escaping into a glamorous and dreamy sequence shot at St. Ann & The Holy Trinity Church in Brooklyn Heights.

“Generation self medication. Social groups, shattered mirrors pieced back together and bound by saliva. Holding hands just to say ‘it’s Ok that everything isn’t Ok.’ There’s love here, and peace, if you’re alright with being on your own. We like it in pairs – but there’s only room for one in a K Hole.” – Alex Cameron

Pre-Order Oxy Music

This month, Cameron will begin his European and North American tour. Tickets are on sale now.

While Oxy Music could be dark, it’s instead brighter and more buoyant than much of Cameron’s previous work, a shift in mood first seen across 2019’s Miami Memory. It’s told from a place of optimism and through the lens of Cameron, in the way that only he can tell it. Cameron has always been a great storyteller, finding his ways into the depths of the places where not many others are looking, and Oxy Music continues on that trajectory. It’s filled with stories of people who fall outside the system and exist in the gray areas of life. In its design – its music, lyrics and tracklist – lies the journey a person can take, if the circumstances present themselves – down the road of heavy drug and alcohol abuse. He says about Oxy Music: “The album is a story, a work of fiction, mostly from the perspective of a man. Starved of meaningful purpose, confused about the state of the world, and in dire need of a reason to live – a person can, and according to the latest statistics, increasingly will, turn to opioids. This is one of those people.”

Alex Cameron Tour Dates:
Sat. Mar. 19 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli (Pandora)
Mon. Mar. 21 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale
Tue. Mar. 22 – Reims, FR @ La Cartonnerie
Wed. Mar. 23 – Lyon, FR @ L’Epicerie Moderne
Thu. Mar. 24 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Sat. Mar. 26 – Bologna, IT @ Covo Club
Mon. Mar. 28 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz
Tue. Mar. 29 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Thu. Mar. 31 – Warsaw, PL @ Hydrozagadka
Sat. Apr. 2 – Copenhagen, DK @ Studio 2
Sun. Apr. 3 – Goteborg, SE @ Pustervik
Mon. Apr. 4 – Stockholm, SE @ Berns
Tue. Apr. 5 – Oslo, NE @ Cosmopolite
Thu. Apr. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Fri. Apr. 8 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Orangerie)
Sun. Apr. 10 – Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Mon. Apr. 11 – Glasgow, UK @ St. Luke’s
Wed. Apr. 13 – Newcastle, UK @ NUSU
Thu. Apr. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Sat. Apr. 16 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social – SOLD OUT
Sun. Apr. 17 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social
Tue. Apr. 19 – Bristol, UK @ Trinity
Wed. Apr. 20 – Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Fri. Apr. 22 – London, UK @ EartH
Thu. Apr. 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco
Sat. Apr. 30 – Columbus, OH @ SoupFest 2022
Sat. May 7 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sun. May 8 – Indianapolis, IN @ The Vogue
Mon. May 9 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Thu. May 12 – Toronto, ON @ The Axis Club
Fri. May 13 – Montreal, QBC @ Ausgang Plaza
Sat. May. 14 – Burlington, VT @ Waking Windows
Sun. May 15 – New Haven, CT @ Space Ballroom
Tue. May 17 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
Wed. May 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. May 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Fri. May 20 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Sat. May 21 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat. May 28 – London, UK @ Wide Awake Festival
Sun. Jun. 5 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera a la Ciutat (Razzmatazz 2)
Thu. Jun. 9 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Wed. Jun. 22 – Sun. Jun. 26 – Calgary, AB @ Sled Island Music & Arts Festival

Music

Other Recent News

05/20/2022

Porridge Radio releases new album ‘Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder To The Sky’

Listen to focus track "Rotten"

05/11/2022

Wet Announce new EP ‘Pink Room’ Out July 8th on Friends Of Secretly Canadian

Wet releases new single ‘Tell Me Why’

05/11/2022

Stella Donnelly Returns With Sophomore Album ‘Flood’, releases lead single “Lungs” with video

Out August 26th on Secretly Canadian

05/06/2022

AUNDREY GUILLAUME. releases “ENERGY” EP

Listen to focus track "COMBO"

Videos