The Secretly Canadian Newsletter

Ahead of his debut album’s release this Friday via Secretly Canadian, Joey Dosik is pleased to share his video for new single, “Take Mine.” Drawing inspiration from Carole King’s “You’ve Got A Friend” and Bill Withers’ “Lean On Me,” Dosik set out to write a song, much like those two, as a universal message to both children and adults.

It’s a song about being willing to ask for help when you are in need,” says Dosik. “We live in a very turbulent world and there are a lot of people in need of the most basic human needs — food, water, shelter, freedom, security, opportunity. ‘Take Mine’ is about ourselves, the ones we love, and the people in need of help who we do not know.”

Of the video, Dosik says, it “begins with the camera following an older woman who appears to be lost as she wanders down the middle of a residential street. Eventually she is drawn by the sounds of a piano into a home where she sees part of her life flash before her eyes. The time-lapse cycles through the years, capturing her good times, her sad times, relationships, loss, and aging.

“We wanted to include several decades in the video to tell the story because the song has a message that is multi-generational. At the end, the woman is sitting at the piano with her son, played by me. I’m there to comfort her through her trying time, and there is also something there to comfort us all – music!

Pre-order Inside Voice

Joey Dosik Tour Dates (new dates in bold):
Thu. Aug. 23 – Los Angeles, CA Troubadour
Fri. Aug. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sun. Aug. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Thu. Sep. 6 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Fri. Sep. 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall
Sun. Sep. 9 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sun. Sep. 16 – Templeton, CA @ Whale Rock Music Festival
Thu. Sep. 20 – Lincoln, NE @ Duffy’s Back Lot Stage (Lincoln Calling)
Fri. Sep. 21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre *
Sat. Sep. 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre *
Tue. Sep. 25 – Copenhagen, DK @ Store VEGA *
Wed. Sep. 26 – Copenhagen, DK @ Store VEGA *
Fri. Sep. 28 – Paris, FR @ Olympia *
Mon. Oct. 1 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia Theatre *
Tue. Oct. 2 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia Theatre *
Thu. Oct. 4 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton *
Wed. Oct. 10 – Washington, DC @ Pearl Street Warehouse
Fri. Oct. 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sat. Oct. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Sun. Oct. 14 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Wed. Oct. 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Thu. Oct. 18 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Blind Pig
Fri. Oct. 19 – Chicago, IL @ Sleeping Village
Sat. Oct. 20 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Tue. Oct. 30 – Berlin, DE @ Auster Club
Thu. Nov. 1 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA – Ideal Bar
Tue. Nov. 6 – Zürich, CH @ Exil
Thu. Nov. 8 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum
Sat. Nov. 10 – Sun. Nov. 11 – Dublin 2, IE @ The Sugar Club
Mon. Nov. 12 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Wed. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall

* = w/ Vulfpeck

Music

Other Recent News

06/22/2022

Stella Donnelly releases title track off of new album’Flood’ out August 26th

"Flood" follows last months single "Lungs"

06/17/2022

Whitney announces new album ‘SPARK’ out September 16th

Lead single "REAL LOVE" out now with video

06/01/2022

Yeah Yeah Yeahs announce new album ‘Cool It Down’ & release single

Listen to "Spitting Off the Edge of the World" now

05/20/2022

Porridge Radio releases new album ‘Waterslide, Diving Board, Ladder To The Sky’

Listen to focus track "Rotten"

Videos