Joey Dosik’s debut album, Inside Voice, is set for release August 24th. Today, he’s thrilled to share the Tim Hendrix-directed video for album’s second single, “Don’t Want It To Be Over” (Feat. Coco O.).

The song “is too happy to be just be a break up song and too dark lyrically to be just a make up song,” says Dosik. “The music video showcases a couple that expresses their love/hate for each other with cunning immaturity and physical genius. The insanely nimble dancers, JJ Rabone and Hunter Krikac, run circles around each other just like we sometimes do with our partners — coming up with rhymes and reasons to assert our control and mask our insecurities. Jo Roy choreographed with the influence of 60’s Go-Go and Bob Fosse, but I’m most amazed at how she is still able to use a modern flare on top of the classic styles.” Watch the video below.

Pre-order Inside Voice

Dosik honed his craft as part of a burgeoning Los Angeles scene that reinvents classic popular music to thrive in the present tense. With Inside Voice, which features a number of Dosik’s closest collaborators – including Moses Sumney, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Mocky, Coco O., Theo Katzman, and others – Dosik delivers a level of depth rarely achieved in a debut, and the result is an instant classic by any standard.

Inside Voice follows Dosik’s acclaimed debut EP, Game Winner, re-released by Secretly Canadian earlier this year. Dosik made his late-night television debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live! the day of the EP’s release performing “Running Away”.

Dosik will play select dates across North America this fall in support of Inside Voice. All dates are below and on-sale now.

Joey Dosik Tour Dates (new dates in bold):
Fri. Aug. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sun. Aug. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Thu. Sep. 6 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Fri. Sep. 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall
Sun. Sep. 9 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile

Sun. Sep. 16 – Templeton, CA @ Whale Rock Music Festival
Fri. Sep. 21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre *
Sat. Sep. 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre *
Tue. Sep. 25 – Copenhagen, DK @ Store VEGA *
Wed. Sep. 26 – Copenhagen, DK @ Store VEGA *
Fri. Sep. 28 – Paris, FR @ Olympia *
Mon. Oct. 1 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia Theatre *
Tue. Oct. 2 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia Theatre *
Thu. Oct. 4 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton *
Wed. Oct. 10 – Washington, DC @ Pearl Street Warehouse
Fri. Oct. 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sat. Oct. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Sun. Oct. 14 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Wed. Oct. 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Thu. Oct. 18 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Blind Pig
Fri. Oct. 19 – Chicago, IL @ Sleeping Village
Sat. Oct. 20 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Tue. Oct. 30 – Berlin, DE @ Auster Club
Thu. Nov. 1 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA – Ideal Bar
Tue. Nov. 6 – Zürich, CH @ Exil
Thu. Nov. 8 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum
Sat. Nov. 10 – Sun. Nov. 11 – Dublin 2, IE @ The Sugar Club
Mon. Nov. 12 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Wed. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall

* = w/ Vulfpeck

Music

Other Recent News

12/05/2019

Porridge Radio Signs to SC + Shares “Lilac” Video

Secretly Canadian is proud to present new signing Porridge Radio and share the video for “Lilac,” their new single. “Lilac” is the final in a trio of singles the band have released this year, propelling them from a word-of-mouth gem of Brighton, UK’s DIY scene to a wider audience

12/03/2019

Joey Dosik Shares New Single “Lakers Town”

Today Joey Dosik's brand new single is all about LA. “Lakers Town” is Joey Dosik's first single from his upcoming Michael McBolton basketball podcast, “Lakers Town.” Listen to the song now, and tune in at 1pm EST for the video premiere.

11/05/2019

Stella Donnelly Shares Video for “Season’s Greetings”

Stella Donnelly is delighted to share the video for ‘Season's Greetings, taken from her critically acclaimed debut album Beware of the Dogs, released earlier this year.

11/04/2019

Shura Releases ‘Live at Metropolis Studios’

Shura has today released two new live recordings, ‘Live at Metropolis Studios’. The sessions were recorded live to vinyl with stripped-back versions of "religion (u can lay your hands on me)" and "forever." Limited edition physical of ‘Live at Metropolis Studios’ will be available on Shura’s European tour, which begins this week.

Videos