Joey Dosik’s debut album, Inside Voice, is set for release August 24th. Today, he’s thrilled to share the Tim Hendrix-directed video for album’s second single, “Don’t Want It To Be Over” (Feat. Coco O.).

The song “is too happy to be just be a break up song and too dark lyrically to be just a make up song,” says Dosik. “The music video showcases a couple that expresses their love/hate for each other with cunning immaturity and physical genius. The insanely nimble dancers, JJ Rabone and Hunter Krikac, run circles around each other just like we sometimes do with our partners — coming up with rhymes and reasons to assert our control and mask our insecurities. Jo Roy choreographed with the influence of 60’s Go-Go and Bob Fosse, but I’m most amazed at how she is still able to use a modern flare on top of the classic styles.” Watch the video below.

Pre-order Inside Voice

Dosik honed his craft as part of a burgeoning Los Angeles scene that reinvents classic popular music to thrive in the present tense. With Inside Voice, which features a number of Dosik’s closest collaborators – including Moses Sumney, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Mocky, Coco O., Theo Katzman, and others – Dosik delivers a level of depth rarely achieved in a debut, and the result is an instant classic by any standard.

Inside Voice follows Dosik’s acclaimed debut EP, Game Winner, re-released by Secretly Canadian earlier this year. Dosik made his late-night television debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live! the day of the EP’s release performing “Running Away”.

Dosik will play select dates across North America this fall in support of Inside Voice. All dates are below and on-sale now.

Joey Dosik Tour Dates (new dates in bold):
Fri. Aug. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sun. Aug. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Thu. Sep. 6 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Fri. Sep. 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall
Sun. Sep. 9 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile

Sun. Sep. 16 – Templeton, CA @ Whale Rock Music Festival
Fri. Sep. 21 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre *
Sat. Sep. 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre *
Tue. Sep. 25 – Copenhagen, DK @ Store VEGA *
Wed. Sep. 26 – Copenhagen, DK @ Store VEGA *
Fri. Sep. 28 – Paris, FR @ Olympia *
Mon. Oct. 1 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia Theatre *
Tue. Oct. 2 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia Theatre *
Thu. Oct. 4 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton *
Wed. Oct. 10 – Washington, DC @ Pearl Street Warehouse
Fri. Oct. 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sat. Oct. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
Sun. Oct. 14 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Wed. Oct. 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Thu. Oct. 18 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Blind Pig
Fri. Oct. 19 – Chicago, IL @ Sleeping Village
Sat. Oct. 20 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Tue. Oct. 30 – Berlin, DE @ Auster Club
Thu. Nov. 1 – Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA – Ideal Bar
Tue. Nov. 6 – Zürich, CH @ Exil
Thu. Nov. 8 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum
Sat. Nov. 10 – Sun. Nov. 11 – Dublin 2, IE @ The Sugar Club
Mon. Nov. 12 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Wed. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall

* = w/ Vulfpeck

Music

Other Recent News

10/11/2018

Deluxe Reissue of Songs: Ohia’s ‘The Lioness’ Out Nov. 23rd

At the dawn of the 21st century, 'The Lioness' felt modern. The avant-garde tones and arrangements of Arab Strap are absorbed here into Molina's songwriting to create what would become, for many acolytes, the archetypal Songs: Ohia sound. 'Love & Work: The Lioness Sessions,' the box set reissue, is out Nov. 23rd.

10/04/2018

Steven A. Clark Shares New Video for “Found”

Miami artist Steven A. Clark has released the new video for his song “Found” off his latest album, 'Where Neon Goes To Die,' The Ariel Fisher-directed video (premiered via NYLON) is a hazy, ethereal companion to Clark's sonic aesthetic that feels straight out of a 1980s Miami nightclub.

09/21/2018

Richard Swift’s ‘The Hex’ is Now Available Digitally

Today sees the digital release of Richard Swift's masterpiece, 'The Hex.'

09/20/2018

Richard Swift’s New Album, ‘The Hex,’ To Be Released Tomorrow

Richard Swift’s new album, 'The Hex,'
will be released tomorrow. The physical album is due out December 7th. Listen to "Sept20" now.

Videos