The Secretly Canadian Newsletter

To mark the anniversary of their acclaimed, breakthrough album Every Bad, released on 13th March 2020 via Secretly Canadian, Porridge Radio have released an expanded edition of the record which features remixes from artists whose work influences and inspires the band.

The Expanded Edition sees remixes of album tracks from NNAMDÏ, Clarence Clarity, Dream Wife, Grove, umru and Himera, and hollow walt, as well as a demo of breakthrough single ‘Sweet’ and the song ‘Talking About It’ – which was previously only available via limited edition 7”.

Stream Every Bad Expanded Edition

The expanded edition coincides with the one-year anniversary of the initial release Every Bad, which came out on the same weekend the UK headed into its first lockdown. Despite the band’s first major headline tour and all upcoming promotional plans being swiftly cancelled, the album still resonated widely with fans in isolation. The album went on to earn the band a Mercury Prize nomination and landed on numerous end-of-year album lists.

On the album’s release and lockdown, Dana Margolin, who fronts Porridge Radio, recently spoke to The Observer as part of their New Review lockdown cover story.

Porridge Radio have also shared a remix by Chicago-based genre-defying musician NNAMDÏ of ‘Homecoming Song’. On working with NNAMDÏ, Dana Margolin said:

“NNAMDÏ’s album BRAT was one of my favourite albums I heard last year. His songwriting and production are so compelling to me, so I was really excited by the idea of him remixing Homecoming Song and bringing his genius to it. I really love what he’s brought to the song, it blew me away when I heard it. In fact, all these remixes have added a new dimension to our songs for me and I really love them all.”

And on reworking the track, NNAMDÏ added:

“I was really excited to get to work on this remix after listening to all of Every Bad. The chanted repetitive vocals were hypnotic which I liked. I had been listening to a lot of Chicago footwork at the time of creating this remix which at its core has that similar hypnotic vibe you can lose yourself in. I tried to incorporate some of that into the beginning of the remix and let it blossom into something a bit more bouncy and happy towards the end.”

Every Bad Expanded Edition tracklist:

Disc One:

  1. Born Confused
  2. Don’t Ask Me Twice
  3. Long
  4. Nephews
  5. Pop Song
  6. Give/Take
  7. Lilac
  8. Circling
  9. (Something)
  10. Homecoming Song


Disc Two:

  1. Born Confused (Grove Remix)
  2. Don’t Ask Me Twice (Dream Wife Remix)
  3. Pop Song (Clarence Clarity Remix)
  4. Pop Song (umru and Himera Remix)
  5. Lilac (hollow walt Remix)
  6. Homecoming Song (NNAMDÏ Remix)
  7. Talking About It
  8. Sweet (demo)


Other Recent News


Loren Kramar Signs to Secretly Canadian & Unveils New Single, “Hollywood Blvd”

New single & video, "Hollywood Blvd" out now


serpentwithfeet Announces New Album ‘GRIP’ Alongside New Single & Video, “Damn Gloves”

New single "Damn Gloves" out now


Introducing Secretly Canadian’s Newest Signing, gglum

New single and video, "SPLAT!" out now


ANOHNI and the Johnsons Present New Video For “Scapegoat”

New video for "Scapegoat" out now