Australian singer/songwriter Stella Donnelly shares a new single, “Tricks,” off of her forthcoming debut album Beware of the Dogs, out March 8th via Secretly Canadian. Following previously released songs, “Lunch” and “Old Man,” “Tricks” is a deceptively catchy jab at racist Australian pride and the absurdity of the music industry. The accompanying video was directed by Nick McKk and fellow Australian musician Julia Jacklin and shot in Melbourne.

“This song is a playful zoom-in on the ‘Australian Identity’ and a loose dig at the morons that used to yell sh*t at me when I played cover gigs on Sunday afternoons. It probably served me right for singing ‘Wonderwall’ every weekend.”

Donnelly’s charisma shines on Beware of the Dogs as she explores her career, her country, her family, and her relationships with a razor-sharp wit and emotional authenticity.

Pre-order Beware of the Dogs

Stella Donnelly Tour Dates:
Wed. March 6 – Surry Hills, AU @ Golden Age Cinema & Bar
Thu. March 7 – Surry Hills, AU @ Golden Age Cinema & Bar
Sat. March 9 – Brunswick West, AU @ Estonian House (Matinee U18)
Sat. March 9 – Brunswick West, AU @ Estonian House
Sun. March 10 – Tasmania, AU @ Panama Festival
Fri. March 15 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall #
Sat. March 16 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s #
Mon. March 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade #
Wed. March 20 – Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom #
Fri. March 22 – Somerville, MA @ ONCE Ballroom #
Sat. March 23 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo #
Sun. March 24 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel #
Mon. March 25 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx #
Wed. March 27 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups #
Thu. March 28 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop #
Fri. March 29 – Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s #
Sat. March 30 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club #
Tue. April 2 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza #
Wed. April 3 – Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall #
Fri. April 5 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Nord #
Sat. April 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater #
Thu. April 11 – Berlin, DE @ Badehaus
Fri. April 12 – Hamburg, DE @ Skybar
Sat. April 13 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Mon. April 15 – Cologne, DE @ Yuca
Tue. April 16 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Wed. April 17 – Amiens, FR @ La Lune Des Pirates *
Thu. April 18 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up Du Label
Tue. April 23 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Wed. April 24 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Thu. April 25 – Southampton, UK @ Joiners
Sat. April 27 – Brighton, UK @ Haunt
Sun. April 28 – Manchester, UK @ Yes
Mon. April 29 – Dublin, IE @ Grand Social
Wed. May 1 – Glasgow, UK @ The Blue Arrow
Thu. May 2 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Community Room
Sat. May 4 – Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Sound City
Sun. May 5 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega
Tue. May 7 – London, UK @ Scala
Thu. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskildge Festival
Fri. July 5 – Vilanova I La Geltrú, ES @ Vida Festival
Wed. July 17 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada &
Thu. July 18 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Fri. July 19 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom &
Tue. July 23 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In &
Wed. July 24 – Louisville KY @ Headliners Music Hall &
Thu. July 25 – Columbus, OH @ Skully’s Music Diner
Sun. July 28 – Tachikawa, JP @ Fuji Rock Festival
Fri. Aug. 9 – Rees, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival
Sat. Aug. 10 – Bristol, UK @ Boomtown Festival
Sat. Aug. 17 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Thu. Aug. 29 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival

# = with Faye Webster
* = supporting Yak
& = support Snail Mail

Music

Other Recent News

05/24/2019

Faye Webster Releases ‘Atlanta Millionaires Club’

Faye Webster, the 21-year-old Atlanta-based singer-songwriter and decorated photographer, releases her third full-length album, 'Atlanta Millionaires Club,' today via Secretly Canadian. 'Atlanta Millionaires Club' is an album stitched together by intimate songwriting about lonesomeness in spite of Webster’s connection to a larger community.

05/23/2019

Steven A. Clark Shares Helado Negro Remix of “Feel This Way”

Helado Negro has remixed Steven A. Clark’s “Feel This Way." Taken from Clark’s recent LP Where 'Neon Goes To Die,' Negro makes the track entirely his own.

05/22/2019

Cherry Glazerr Share Reggie Watts Remix of “Daddi”

This morning, Cherry Glazerr, the Los Angeles based trio led by 22-year-old frontwoman Clementine Creevy, premiered the Reggie Watts remix of “Daddi” via Highsnobiety. “Daddi” is the “itchy, pressurized panic attack” (Stereogum) lead single from their album 'Stuffed & Ready.'

05/13/2019

Whitney Expands Fall U.S. Headline Tour

Whitney – the Chicago-based band led by vocalist/drummer Julien Ehrlich and guitarist Max Kakacek – has expanded its fall U.S. headline tour. This includes a second night at Brooklyn Steel in New York, which the band previously sold out on the back of their debut album, 'Light Upon The Lake.'

Videos