Whitney, the Chicago-based band led by vocalist/drummer Julien Ehrlich and guitarist Max Kakacek, will release their sophomore album, Forever Turned Around, on August 30th via Secretly Canadian. On the follow up to their much-beloved debut, 2016’s Light Upon the Lake, Ehrlich and Kakacek grapple with the anxiety and acceptance that time is limited and navigate questions of mortality, doubt, love, and friendship. It’s an album about partnership — romantic, familial and communal, but most importantly a love in friendship: the bonds between two best friends and creative partners and the joy and stress that comes with it.

First played on SiriusXMU, lead single “Giving Up” is its triumphant opener – a heart-rending and relatable song about the ups and downs of long-term relationships.

Pre-order Forever Turned Around

Forever Turned Around was co-produced by Brad Cook (Bon Iver, Hand Habits) and Jonathan Rado (Weyes Blood, Father John Misty). It came together over several sessions, with its earliest material written while on tour, but truly revealed itself when they reunited with original rhythm guitarist Ziyad Asrar in his basement Chicago studio—the same place where they hashed out much of Light Upon The Lake. While recording, the band enlisted Chicago musicians Lia Kohl and OHMME’s Macie Stewart to provide strings, their lush swells colorfully accenting the arrangements throughout the record.

Whitney has long been a full-fledged live band with keyboardist Malcolm Brown, guitarist Print Chouteau, bassist Josiah Marshall, and trumpeter Will Miller, along with Asrar who’s returning to the fold on their upcoming tour. The band will appear at Chicago’s Pitchfork Music Festival in July before embarking on a lengthy European and North American tour, including two nights at Brooklyn Steel in New York City, The Wiltern in Los Angeles, and more. Tickets for all shows are on sale now.

Forever Turned Around Tracklist:
1. Giving Up
2. Used To Be Lonely
3. Before I Know It
4. Song For Ty
5. Valleys (My Love)
6. Rhododendron
7. My Life Alone
8. Day & Night
9. Friend of Mine
10. Forever Turned Around

Whitney Tour Dates:
Fri. July 19-Sun. July 21 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Thu. Aug. 1 – Luhmühlen, DE @ A Summer’s Tale
Mon. Aug. 5 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand
Tue. Aug. 6 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. Aug. 7 – Aarhus, DK @ VoxHall
Fri. Aug. 9 – Rees-Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival
Sat. Aug. 11 – Castelbuono, IT @ Ypsigrock Festival
Tue. Aug. 13 – Bergen, NO @ Landmark
Thu. Aug. 15 – Trondheim, NO @ Pstereo
Fri. Aug. 16 – Brecon Beacons, UK @ Green Man
Sat. Aug. 17 – Mechelen, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sun. Aug. 18 – Biddinghuizen, NL @ Lowlands Festival
Mon. Sept. 9 – Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird
Tue. Sept. 10 – St. Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall
Wed. Sept. 11 – Kansas City, MO @ The Truman
Thu. Sept. 12 – Dallas, TX @ Canton Hall
Fri. Sept. 13 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk – SOLD OUT
Sat. Sept. 14 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Sun. Sept. 15 – Houston, TX @ Satellite
Tue. Sept. 17 – New Orleans, LA @ Tipitina’s
Wed. Sept. 18 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Fri. Sept. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Sat. Sept. 21 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Sun. Sept. 22 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Mon. Sept. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Sept. 26 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sat. Sept. 28 – Accord, NY @ Woodsist Festival
Sun. Sept. 29 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Tue. Oct. 1 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Wed. Oct. 2 – Boston, MA @ Royale
Thu. Oct. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Oct. 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel – SOLD OUT
Thu. Oct. 17 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Fri. Oct. 18 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Sat. Oct. 19 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Mon. Oct. 21 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Wed. Oct. 23 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro
Thu. Oct. 24 – Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Fri. Oct. 25 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre
Sat. Oct. 26 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre
Sun. Oct. 27 – Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Wed. Oct. 30 – Chico, CA @ The Big Room at Sierra Nevada Brewery
Fri. Nov. 1 – San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield Theatre
Sun. Nov. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
Sun. Nov. 3 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory San Diego
Mon. Nov. 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Yost Theater
Fri. Nov. 8 – Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sun. Nov. 10 – Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Tue. Nov. 12 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Nov. 14 – Munich, DE @ Strom
Fri. Nov. 15 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Sun. Nov. 17 – Copehagen, DK @ Store Vega
Mon. Nov. 18 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. Nov. 21 – Paris, FR @ Trabendo
Sat. Nov. 23 – Bristol, UK @ SWX
Mon. Nov. 25 – Cambridge, UK @ The Junction
Tue. Nov. 26 – Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Wed. Nov. 27 – Glasgow, UK @ QMU
Thu. Nov. 28 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Fri. Nov. 29 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
Sun. Dec. 1 – Dublin, IE @ The Academy

Other Recent News

08/22/2019

Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot Proclaims 8/30 as Whitney Day

Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot has proclaimed August 30th to be Whitney Day in Chicago to celebrate the release of the band’s sophomore album, 'Forever Turned Around,' out that day. Throughout August 30th, fans will have a chance to celebrate with the band around the city.

08/16/2019

Shura Releases New Album ‘forevher’

Shura has today released second album forevher. Written primarily about Shura’s relationship with her girlfriend and their long-distance conception, forevher covers everything from the initial pull of desire to recognizing the moment when the connection develops into something scarily meaningful: it’s a classic NYC-to-London love-story, but one told through the totally modern filter of dating apps, unanswered texts, and Skype chats.

08/15/2019

Alex Cameron Shares New Single/Video “Far From Born Again”

Alex Cameron releases Miami Memory, his new album and love letter to his partner, on September 13th via Secretly Canadian. Following previously released singles “Divorce” and “Miami Memory,” Cameron now presents a new single/video, “Far From Born Again,” which “celebrates the legitimacy of the independent sex worker, and casts a light on the humans that provide the service to millions worldwide.”

08/13/2019

Whitney Shares New Single/Video, “Used To Be Lonely”

Whitney - the Chicago-based band led by vocalist/drummer Julien Ehrlich and guitarist Max Kakacek - shares a new single/video, “Used To Be Lonely,” from their forthcoming album, Forever Turned Around, out August 30th via Secretly Canadian. It follows the previously released singles, “Valleys (My Love)” and “Giving Up.”

Videos