jenslekman_photo_ellika-henrikson_2016_highres_04-crop
Jens Lekman has announced his new album, Life Will See You Now, due out February 17th via Secretly Canadian.

Across three studio albums, the Swedish singer/songwriter and musician has proven not only his flair for telling very personal stories with a sharp self-awareness, but also his skill for balancing depth of emotional expression with droll and often self-deprecating detail. It’s a winning pop combination.

His fourth, Life Will See You Now, is a typical Lekman album in several ways: sly humor is key to its heartfelt nature; it inverts pops writing norm by making songs with sad concerns sound happy and songs with a happy subject sound sad; and it plays with notions of identity and the self.

Released today along with the album announcement, the obviously upbeat lead single “What’s That Perfume That You Wear?” features steel pans sample from Ralph MacDonald’s “The Path” of 1978 “one of my favorite records ever,” enthuses Lekman.

Lekman will embark on a headline tour of North America in February and March 2017 with a full band, including shows at the Teragram Ballroom in Los Angeles and Bowery Ballroom and Music Hall of Williamsburg in New York City. He will also tour the UK and Scandinavia in March and April 2017. All dates are below and tickets are on sale now.

Life Will See You Now is available to preorder now. The Secretly Canadian bundle will include an exclusive orange opaque vinyl, limited postcard flexi of “What’s That Perfume That You Wear?” and a limited one-sided flexi of bonus track “Two Young Lovers.”

untitled
Pre-order Life Will See You Now: https://jenslekman.lnk.to/lifewillseeyounow
Life Will See You Now tracklist:
1. To Know Your Mission
2. Evening Prayer
3. Hotwire The Ferris Wheel
4. What’s That Perfume That You Wear?
5. Our First Fight
6. Wedding in Finistre
7. How We Met, The Long Version
8. How Can I Tell Him
9. Postcard #17
10. Dandelion Seed
Jens Lekman 2017 Tour Dates:
Thu. Feb 23 Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall (Downstairs)
Fri. Feb 24 Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. Feb 25 Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Mon. Feb 27 Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Tue. Feb 28 San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Fri. Mar. 3 Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Sun. Mar. 5 Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Wed. Mar. 8 Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Cafe
Thu. Mar. 9 Chicago, IL @ Metro
Fri. Mar. 10 Columbus, OH @ Wexner Center for the Arts
Sat. Mar. 11 Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick
Mon. Mar. 13 @ Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall
Wed. Mar. 15 Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Thu. Mar. 16 Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Fri. Mar. 17 Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sat. Mar. 18 New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Sun. Mar. 19 Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Tue. Mar. 28 Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Wed. Mar. 29 London, UK @ Oval Space
Thu. Mar. 30 Leeds, UK @ The Brudenell Social Club
Fri. Mar. 31 Manchester, UK @ Band on the Wall
Sat. Apr. 1 Glasgow, UK @ St. Lukes Church
Mon. Apr. 3 Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern
Tue. Apr. 4 Uppsala, SE @ Uppsala Konsert & Kongress
Wed. Apr. 5 Malmo, SE @ KB
Thu. Apr 6 Copenhagen, DK @ Studie 2
Fri. Apr. 7 Orebro, SE @ Orebro Concert Hall
Sat. Apr. 8 Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Sun. Apr. 9 Oslo, NO @ John Dee