Filed Under:independent

LISTEN // Gardens & Villa’s ‘Music For Dogs’ Now Streaming On Noisey, Album Out Aug. 21st

Gardens & Villa’s new album, Music For Dogs, is now streaming via Noisey. It’ll be up until the record’s release next Friday, August 21st via Secretly Canadian. And if you haven’t yet watched Maximize, a short film about the band’s new record by director David Del Sur and cinematographer SL Perlin, please do so above!

“We thought the label would drop us.. Our girlfriends dropped us. Our drummer of six years left. We were broke and we sort of came home with a feeling of “is this the end?” That’s when Adam and I decided to move to LA and give it one last hurrah. We felt like we wanted to go out with a bang and make the album we always wanted to make! For us and for the sake of love and fun. We immediately started recording demos and sent them to our label desperately hoping they would finance us and give us another chance. I remember when we showed them the demos of Everybody” and “Fixations” and they kind of freaked out. We wanted to redeem ourselves and everything sort of fell into place! We discovered a lot and fell back in love with the craft. We tracked most of the record live, to tape (like our first LP), and did almost all of it in seven days. So happy to get it out there.”
Chris Lynch (of Gardens & Villa)

Gardens & Villa will begin their U.S. tour in mid-September, with performances spanning three months and the entire country. All tour dates are below.

Pre-Order Music For Dogs now via SCD, iTunes, or Amazon

[All dates + tickets at]
Tue. Sept. 15 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thu. Sept. 17 – Austin, TX @ The Parish*
Fri. Sept. 18 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada*
Sat. Sept. 19 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues/Bronze Peacock*
Sun. Sept. 20 – New Orleans @ Gasa Gasa*
Tue. Sept. 22 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5*
Wed. Sept. 23 – Carrboro, NC @ Cats Cradle*
Thu. Sept. 24 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel*
Fri. Sept. 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg*
Sat. Sept. 28 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle*
Tue. Sept. 29 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair*
Wed. Sept. 30 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDB*
Thu. Oct. 1 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison%
Fri. Oct. 2 – Detroit, MI @ UFO Factory
Sat. Oct. 3 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall%
Sun. Oct. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry%
Tue. Oct. 6 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Wed. Oct. 7 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Thu. Oct. 8 – Las Vegas, NV @ Beauty Bar
Fri. Oct. 9 – San Diego, CA @ IRENIC
Sat. Oct. 10 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s
Thu. Nov. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy#
Sat. Nov. 14 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlows Restaurant & Nightclub#
Mon. Nov. 16 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile#
Tue. Nov. 17 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt#
Wed. Nov. 18 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge#
Fri. Nov. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent#
* w/ Palehound
# w/ De Lux
& w/ American Wrestlers

Come See Us At The Independent Label Market In London On Saturday!

We are very excited to be in attendance at the Independent Label Market tomorrow with a long list of other fantastic indie labels! We’ll have vinyl, rare items, and more for you to mull over buying with your hard earned money but we would love just to see you and say hello!

Our table is located by the Commercial St entrace to the Market in between Soul Jazz Records and Vice Records. To see a list of some special items we are offering at the market plus a map of all the vendors, see below.

Read the rest of this entry »


Falling by Here We Go Magic
Ordinary Feeling by Here We Go Magic
Tokyo London US Korea by Here We Go Magic
Fixations by Gardens & Villa
Everybody by Gardens & Villa
Not You by Steven A. Clark
Moony Eyed Walrus by Cayucas
Gazelles In Flight by Suuns
Blue Chicago Moon by Songs: Ohia
Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness


Big Winter Jacket by Cayucas

Be Small by Here We Go Magic

Tokyo London US Korea by Here We Go Magic

In Touch by Suuns



There are no shows at this time.

See all upcoming shows