ALBUM RELEASE // Electric Youth ‘Innerworld’ Out Now Worldwide, Watch “Runaway” Video Via VICE/Noisey, Dir. By Noel Paul




Toronto duo Electric Youth‘s SC debut album Innerworld is out now worldwide via Secretly Canadian and Last Gang Records. In celebration of the album release, VICE/Noisey has premiered the gorgeous new video for album track “Runaway”. Directed by Noel Paul and filmed on location in Beirut, Lebanon, the video focuses on a young couple navigating the challenges of life in the city. Watch the video above or on YouTube / Vevo.

Pick up the new album now via SC Distribution, iTunes, Amazon, and your local record store.

Critics praise Innerworld:

“New artist you need to know”

ROLLING STONE

“Soaring”

NPR

“glowing, bittersweet symphony of synth”

THE LINE OF BEST FIT

“Shot through with warm hooks, It’s a worthy retooling of old synth styles”

NME – 8/10

“their breakthrough album at the very least, and may very well be the album of the winter, a season that fits it well”

EXCLAIM – 9/10

Also up today, read Austin’s Top 10 film picks for Criterion.com. Electric Youth begin their first North American healdinging tour this November in Los Angeles at The Roxy on the 3rd. Read more to see all dates and ticket links.

Read the rest of this entry »

WATCH // JJ Premieres “Dynasti” Video Dir. By Olivia Kastebring + Fabian Sigurd Via Complex, Tours Europe in December

Having already released several stunning videos for their latest album, V, Swedish duo JJ debut yet another visual display for “Dynasti”. directed & produced by Olivia Kastebring and Fabian Sigurd, the video immerses the viewer in a journey of fire and tribal dances. Watch the new video above or at Complex / on YouTube/Vevo.

Grab the new album via SC Distribution, iTunes, Amazon, or your local record store.

JJ EUROPEAN LIVE DATES:
[all dates + tix links: secretlycanadian.com/tour]

Sat. Dec. 3 – Brighton, UK @ Unitarian Church
Sun. Dec. 4 – Bristol, UK @ Start The Bus
Mon. Dec. 5 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Tue. Dec. 6 – Dublin, IE @ Opium Rooms
Wed. Dec. 7 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Fri. Dec. 9 – London, UK @ Oslo
Sun. Dec. 11 – Strasbourg, FR @ La Laiterie
Mon. Dec. 12 – Fontenay Sous Bois, FR @ Festival Les Aventuriers
Thu. Dec. 15 – Paris, FR @ La Badaboum

LISTEN // Damien Jurado Streams Bonus Track “Silver Katherine”, Tour Dates in February

“17 years after his debut, Water Ave. S, Jurado sounds more enchanting – and more enchanted – than he ever has.”

Aquarium Drunkard

“A one-man Crosby, Stills & Nash”

NME

“Damien Jurado is very, very good for the soul.”

Under the Radar

Today, Damien Jurado has shared a gorgeous alternative version of his song “Silver Katherine”, off of the deluxe version of his latest album Brothers and Sisters of the Eternal Son. The bonus set of songs on the deluxe album was recorded in the acoustically-brilliant Freemond Abbey in Seattle with the help of the Silver Sisters Choir. Additionally, starting next February Damien will be on the road again, this time in support of Jason Isbell. Full dates are below.

Get Brothers and Sisters of the Eternal Son via SC Distribution, or the regular version of the album from iTunes, Amazon, and your local record store.

DAMIEN JURADO TOUR DATES
Sat. Oct. 11 – Pasadena, CA @ Taste of South Lake (FREE)
Sun. Oct. 12 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg HiFi
Mon. Feb. 2 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Paramount %
Wed. Feb. 4 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre %
Thurs. Feb. 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Keswick Theatre %
Sat. Feb. 7 – New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre %
Mon. Feb. 9 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Carnegie Library Music Hall %
Tues. Feb. 10 – Columbus, OH @ The Southern Theatre %
Thurs. Feb. 12 – Chicago, IL @ Symphony Hall %
Fri. Feb. 13 – Kalamazoo, MI @ Kalamazoo State Theatre %
Sun. Feb. 15 – Des Moines, IA @ Hoyt Sherman Theatre %
Wed. Feb. 18 – Kansas City, MO @ Uptown Theater %

% = w/ Jason Isbell

WATCH // Woman’s Hour Share “In Stillness We Remain (Live at The Rag Factory)” Video, Single Out 9/22, EU Live Dates Start 9/23



Filmed at London’s The Rag Factory, get and a glimpse of the Woman’s Hour show with their live performance of new single “In Stillness We Remain” taken from their recently released debut full length, Conversations. Watch the session above or here on YouTube / Vevo. The band has a string of live dates starting September 23rd in London at Village Underground. See the rest of the dates and ticket links by click read more, below.

If you haven’t already, pick up the new album via iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution / deluxe bundle, and your local record store.

Read the rest of this entry »

G&V EP // Gardens & Villa Announce Free ‘Televisor’ EP, Listen To “Love Affair”, On Tour Now




Celebrating a successful string of summer shows and a new slew of fall tour dates starting tomorrow night, Gardens & Villa have released a new EP Televisor for free via their website www.gardensandvilla.com. Premiering via Stereogum this morning, preview the new EP with “Love Affair (Swift Demo)” above or on our Youtube / Soundcloud.

According to the band, Televisor is a collection of musical sketches, the majority of which were playfully brought into existence when they stopped by Richard Swift‘s National Freedom studio in February of 2012. During psychological experiments inspired by Carl Jung’s ‘Liber Novus’ they reflected on madness and greatness, searching for inspiration in redeeming symbols: smoke, mirrors and the late night hiss. Some danced in-between takes or barked like a train. The band later described their time with Swift as “a fun and frenzied recording, undertaken during professional hysterics.” The other pieces of Televisor were selected from the Dunes recordings with Tim Goldsworthy in 2013. Together these sessions represent some of the more hidden, shrouded sinews of a sonic structure, the unseen movements and psychedelic corridors of Gardens & Villa.

If you haven’t already, pick up their new album Dunes Dunes from iTunes, Amazon, SC Distribution, or your local record store.


GV-Televisor_1-yellow

TELEVISOR EP TRACK LIST
1. Bullet Train (Swift Demo)
2. Love Affair (Swift Demo)
3. Minnesota (Swift Demo)
4. Sleepy Willow (Goldsworthy Demo)
5. Window Man (Goldsworthy Demo


UPCOMING TOUR DATES:

[Tickets: secretlycanadian.com/tour]
Fri. Sept. 12 – San Luis Obispo, CA @ SLO Brewing Company
Sat. Sept. 13 – Sacramento, CA @ THIS Block Party
Thurs. Sept. 18 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
Fri. Sept. 19 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Constellation Room
Sat. Sept. 20 – Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon
Mon. Sept. 22 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Tues. Sept. 23 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Thurs. Sept. 25 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Fri. Sept. 26 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle
Sat. Sept. 27 – Cincinnati, OH @ MidPoint Music Festival
Sun. Sept. 28 – Champaign-Urbana, IL @ Pygmalion Music Festival
Tues. Sept. 30 – Nashville, TN @ High Watt
Wed. Oct. 1 – Asheville, NC @ The Mill Room
Thurs. Oct. 2 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Fri. Oct. 3 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle (Back Room)
Sat. Oct. 4 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Sun. Oct. 5 – Philadelpha, PA @ Johnny’s Brenda’s
Tues. Oct. 7 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Wed. Oct. 8 – Providence, RI @ Fete Lounge
Thurs. Oct. 9 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. Oct. 10 – Rochester, NY @ Lovin’ Cup
Sat. Oct. 11 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Sun. Oct. 12 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
Tues. Oct. 14 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Wed. Oct. 15 – Pontiac, MI @ The Pike Room at The Crofoot
Thurs. Oct. 16 – Indianapolis, IN @ Radio Radio
Fri. Oct. 17 – Madison, WI @ University of Wisconsin: der Rathskeller
Sat. Oct. 18 – Ames, IA @ The Maintenance Shop
Sun. Oct. 19 – Kansas City, MO @ The recordBar
Tues. Oct. 21 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Wed. Oct. 23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thurs. Nov. 6 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
Fri. Nov. 7 – San Antonio, TX @ 502 Bar
Sun. Nov. 9 – Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest
Thurs. Nov. 20 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
Fri. Nov. 21 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Sat. Nov. 22 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Sat. Dec. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex

AUDIO

Faust by I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness
All White Everything by JJ
Wedding Day by Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon
Her Ghost by Woman's Hour
Aerosol Can (feat. Pharrell Williams) by Major Lazer
Pulsing (feat. Nina K) by Tomas Barfod
Red Eyes by The War On Drugs

VIDEOS

Runaway by Electric Youth

Dynasti by JJ

Sunspot by Suuns

COMING SOON

Songs: Ohia
Didn't It Rain (Deluxe Edition)
2XCD / 2XLP

SHOWS TODAY

Gardens & Villa
Nashville, TN - High Watt

Luke Temple
Gainesville, FL - High Dive

Suuns
Ghent, BE - Vooruit

Tig Notaro
Baltimore, MD - Ram's Head Live

See all upcoming shows