Spotify Instagram Youtube Twitter Facebook

Magnolia Electric Co


Secretly Canadian is proud to present the Sojourner boxset. It is the accumulated work of thirteen musicians, five locations, four recording engineers, three filmmakers, two designers and one songwriter, including enough material for three full lengths, one EP and one DVD. The boxset includes 4 CDs a DVD, a poster, postcards and a medallion.

The four CDs that are included in the boxset are from four distinct recording sessions that Magnolia Electric Co recorded following the release of their debut studio album What Comes After The Blues. The session known as Nashville Moon was recorded by Steve Albini at his Electrical Audio studios in Chicago, Illinois. The session known as Sun Sessions was recorded at the legendary Sun Studios in Memphis, Tennessee. The session known as Black Ram was recorded by David Lowery at his Sound Of Music studios in Richmond, Virginia and features an entirely different cast of characters including Lowery, Rick Alverson, Andrew Bird, Molly Blackbird, Miguel Urbiztondo and Alan Weatherhead. The session known as Shohola was recorded by Jason Molina alone, with a guitar and microphone. The Road Becomes What You Leave is a film produced by Todd Chandler and Tim Sutton. It follows the band as they tour across the prairie provinces of Canada and shows the loneliness and isolation one can feel even when traveling in a pack.

Together, these make for the most ambitious and robust Magnolia Electric Co release to date.

Explore the celestial map of Jason Molina and the various constellations of his Magnolia Electric Co.

Complete list of players:

Jason Molina Rick Alverson Andrew Bird Molly Blackbird Mike Brenner Jonathan Cargill Jason Evans Groth Michael Kapinus David Lowery Mark Rice Peter Schreiner Miguel Urbiztondo Alan Weatherhead

(SC150 released: 08/07/07)


  1. Disc 1
  2. Lonesome Valley
  3. Montgomery
  4. Don't Fade On Me
  5. Hammer Down
  6. No Moon On The Water
  7. Nashville Moon
  8. What Comes After The Blues
  9. Don't This Look Like The Dark
  10. North Star
  11. Bowery
  12. Texas 71
  13. Down The Wrong Road Both Ways

    Disc 2
  14. In The Human World
  15. The Black Ram
  16. What's Broken Becomes Better
  17. Will-O-The-Wisp
  18. Kanawha
  19. A Little At A Time
  20. Blackbird
  21. And The Moon Hits The Water
  22. The Old Horizon

    Disc 3
  23. Talk to Me Devil, Again
  24. Memphis Moon
  25. Hold On Magnolia
  26. Trouble In Mind

    Disc 4
  27. Steady Now
  28. Spanish Moon Fall And Rise
  29. Night Country
  30. Shiloh Temple Bell
  31. The Spell
  32. Take One Thing Along
  33. The Lamb's Song
  34. Roll The Wheel

    Disc 5
  35. The Road Becomes What You Leave (DVD)